Skip to content

A few more reasons to love Aldi. Seriously.

March 25, 2010

This is an actual Aldi. It's not as scary as you think. Promise.

I wish I had the budget to only shop Trader Joe’s, Whole Foods and the like.  But I’m a stay home momma of a family of five.  Plus a dog.  That’s a lot of mouths to feed on a modest income.  That’s why I love Aldi – without a coupon in hand, I can walk in and buy the bulk of my family’s food needs and know I’m getting the cheapest price around.

The only downside to Aldi is for those of us trying to eliminate unnatural products, like high fructose corn syrup or partially hydrogenated oils.  One of the reasons their food is so cheap is that much of it is produced with these (heavily-subsized) unhealthy chemicals.  So I love to find something that’s not only mucho cheapo, but also mucho health-o.  And I was so rewarded this week!!

If you’ve paid any attention to fitness experts, you’ve most likely heard all about Steel Cut oats for breakfast – and how they’re 10x better than those Quaker Oats packets that we’re used to (long story short – they’re less processed and offer more health benefits.)   I never knew what they were talking about, so imagine my surprise to find Quick Cook Steel Cut Oats at Aldi this week!  They are a special purchase item, so they may not be around for long, but I got a 24oz can (17 servings) for only $1.79.  Seriously!  That’s two weeks’ worth of breakfast for under $2!!  I had to play around with the directions (needed WAY more water), but after adding in some local honey for sweetness and cinnamon for flavor, I had a delicious, and very filling, health breakfast!   Aldi, you have answered a prayer!

In other “I can’t believe it’s Aldi” news, they have tons of varieties of frozen fruit!  It’s all from their Fit & Active line, and since we’ve been dishin’ on Smoothies this week, I thought it was a bit serendipitous.  Here’s what my local Aldi had to offer:
Blueberries – 16oz bag for $2.69
Berry Blend (blackberries, raspberries & blueberries) – 16oz bag for $2.89
Strawberries  – 32oz bag for $3.49
Mixed fruit (peaches, honeydew, strawberries and grapes) – 32oz bag for $3.49
Fiesta Blend (mango, papaya, pineapple and strawberry) – 32oz bag for $3.49

So I stocked up all around, and am so excited that just a day after struggling with the “What’s for breakfast?” question, Aldi was there with my answer.  Now, just to find a blender that doesn’t suck.

So head out to Aldi for some healthy finds!  Just don’t forget your quarter!  ;-)

Darren:  I am intrigued by your Smart Stick suggestion.  I had one of those once.  About 15 years ago, never used it once.  If I only knew then…

5 Comments leave one →
  1. gina permalink
    March 25, 2010 8:56 am

    Thanks for posting! I’m headed out to Costco today and was going to check out their frozen fruit prices – now I have something to compare them to. I might be heading to Aldi if they do not size up. You’ve inspired me to start smoothies for breakfast too! Thanks for the heads up!

  2. March 25, 2010 2:26 pm

    Hey, let us know how the pricing works out! Costco may still be cheaper per oz due to buying bulk, but you never know.

  3. April 8, 2010 10:23 am

    Does the frozen fruit have any additives or sugar? You can use the oats to make your own snack bars too! I have such high hopes for Aldi!!

  4. Jeanne Spencer permalink
    October 8, 2010 2:15 pm

    just wait until the fall, when Aldi starts stocking up on their chocolates and winter specialty items. YUMMY! I love that they offer a lot of European or small company made products, which often leave out the processed stuff. Thanks for promoting one of my favorite stores. The produce is good, too, as they often have ripe strawberries and don’t pick out the “ugly” fruit or water it too much, like some stores.

    • October 25, 2010 9:31 am

      Jeanne, I think Aldi is frequently overlooked! I love their Specialty items, some of which I wish were year round. Aldi is making slow progress on some of their ingredients…unfortunately, most of their day-to-day stock items (think ketchup, syrup, snacks) still have crappy stuff. But they’re getting there!

Have something to say?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,420 other followers

