Skip to content

Can a Wii replace the Gym?

January 5, 2010

In December, I did what I should have done a year ago, and cancelled my gym membership.  The one that I couldn’t get my kid to stay in the daycare without screaming, the one I never could wake up early enough to get back from in time for Hubby to leave for work, the one that I never managed to make it to in the evenings.  $21 a month for a year – never used.

So for Christmas, Momma got a Wii Fit Plus.  And I have to admit, I’m stoked!  But can a game system really replace the gym?  So far, so good.  I love being told that I’m a 35 year old woman trapped in a 44 year old’s body.  That’s enough right there to give it a try.  I guess I’m just concerned about intensity.  Right now, it’s all so new, nothing has raised my heart rate enough, just made me feel like an elephant on roller skates. Can I actually get back in fighting shape with this baby?

I’m excited about the Fit Plus, though, because I can set up my own workouts to achieve my goals, as opposed to going in and doing one exercise at a time.  And the kiddos LOVE IT – who doesn’t love getting smacked in the face with a shoe on the soccer game, or seeing your Mii turn into a little ball for the balance ball game. The Fit Plus with balance board is going to set you back about $99 (or five months of my previous gym membership.)  If you already have a balance board, just the game will set you back $20.  That’d be one month of my useless gym membership.  And like all things Wii, it’s tough to find it any cheaper – so PLEASE let us all know if you can!

Of course, only time will tell if Momma will actually get up and use it, and if no-face male Wii Fit trainer will work me like Dan did at the Gym (whom I only saw once, because who the hell can afford a personal trainer all the time!?)

Any Wii users out there?  Any tips on getting the most out of your Wii Fit Plus?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. January 5, 2010 7:20 am

    Sounds less like you’re wondering if the Wii will replace the gym or if it will provide you with the motivation that the gym couldn’t. The most important thing with any fitness program is that it has to be enjoyable. When it’s just work, it’s never going to succeed because, ultimately, you’ll find a way out of it. It has to provide you with some sort of motivation outside of just your fitness goals. It sounds like the Wii Fit can provide that in a myriad of ways. Plus, it can make it social. Seriously, the mistake most of us make is not enjoying it.

    Just remember FITT: Frequency, Intensity, Type and Time. Those are the keys to any fitness program and all around fitness. A good balance of anaerobic and aerobic exercise is best for your c/v system as well.

    Sorry. Spent the last decade working on exercise science text books. It’s now ingrained in me. And you thought I’d try and sell you a bike…

  2. January 6, 2010 2:13 pm

    Gary, you’re funny. Actually, I was wondering about the intensity you can get from a video game versus a trainer at the gym.
    But you are correct – motivation comes from within – the perfect workout is the one you enjoy and do! I do like the FITT anagram. I’ll hafta steal that from you.

Have something to say?

