Skip to content

Ugh. Mid-January Slump

January 25, 2010

I stopped being a resolutioner a long time ago.  I hope to be fit and healthy on a regular basis, not just on January 1st.  But my January, like my December, and the months before that, have not been going as I have planned.  And I find myself, like most resolutioners, in a mid-January slump.  They say it takes about three weeks for something to become a habit, so there’s a good chance those of you who pledged daily workouts and healthy meals on New Year’s Day are already finding ways to avoid those obligations.

And I am right there with you!  I’m tired.  Really, really tired.  Yes, I know it has something to do with my 13 month old cutting molars.  He’s already a handful, and has been almost unbearable these past few weeks.  Cranky all day, up for part of the night.  Lord, help a Momma out!

I also suspect that it’s somehow related to the gloom and doom weather the Midwest has been sporting for the past few months as well.  I need sun.  I’m one of those people that, without regular sunshine, gets a bit moody.  OK, a lot moody.  With a side of grumpy, as well.

Add to that the Sahara-like air in my home, and my nails are brittle, my face is dull and flaky, and my hair looks like I’m touching the giant electricity ball at the Magic House.

And my favorite produce stand is closed this month.

And I want to BBQ something.

And I’m cold.

And I miss my flipflops.

Yes, I’m pouting.

Since Blah breeds Blah, I could certainly use a pick me up!  A slap across the face with a dose of “Snap out of it!” on the side!  And the best thing we could all do is…

Just do it.  Quit our bellyachin’ and go for a walk.  Run.  Pump some iron.  Do some yoga.  Hate life as you put on the workout clothes, struggle through the workout, and then…revel in how awesome you feel.  And then get up the next day and do it again.  And again.  And again.

I feel your pain.  Let’s feel it together.

No comments yet

Have something to say?

