Skip to content

What’s For Dinner? Quick N Easy Burritos!

February 1, 2010

You know, as I type this, I am realizing that in the past month, I’ve posted three recipes – and each one is Mexican food.  Hmmm.  Could be something there…

Ok, so this afternoon I was defrosting chicken breasts for dinner, but my heart just wasn’t in it.  We’ve had a lot of chicken lately, and I just wasn’t feelin’ the bird.  And, of course, Mexican food was on my mind.  So I searched AllRecipes for some inspiration, and concocted the following recipe for burritos.  My arm is a bit sore from patting myself on the back so much, but luckily not too sore that I can’t type it out and share it with you!  Because it is YUM!

And the bonus?  They’re cheap.  Like super-duper cheap.  And easy.  And quick.  Because I’m nothing if not quick, cheap and easy.  Ahem.

Amy’s Quick-N-Easy Burritos
2 tbsp olive oil
1 small onion, finely diced
1 tbsp ground cumin
1 tsp chili powder
1 tsp cilantro
2 cloves garlic, finely minced or pressed
1 can black beans, drained and rinsed (can substitute with pinto beans)
1 can whole kernel corn, drained
1 can diced tomatoes, drained (I’d go Rotel if not for my kiddos)
2 cups cooked instant brown rice (cooked in chicken broth)
10-12 whole wheat tortillas
lo-fat shredded monterey jack cheese
lo-fat sour cream

Cook rice according to package directions, substituting water for broth.
Add onion and spices to hot oil over medium heat.  Stir around for a few minutes, add garlic.  Stir a minute or two, add beans, corn and tomatoes.  Lower temp and simmer for 5-10 minutes.  Add cooked rice to mixture, combine thoroughly.
Wrap tortillas in a wet paper towel, microwave for 30-45 seconds.  Spoon mixture onto 1/3 of the  tortilla shell, top with cheese and sour cream. Fold in the ends and roll. Eat. Enjoy.

No comments yet

Have something to say?

