Skip to content

Getting in on the Spark

February 25, 2010

When I was trying to lose my baby weight from my first kiddo, I found a site called SparkPeople.  Long story short, it’s like a free Weight Watchers site.  There’s Nutrition, Fitness and Community areas.  You can log what you eat, follow their meal plans, create your own.  Log workouts, set goals, track performance.  Not to mention a huge Community – message boards, a chance to set up your own SparkPage, make “friends,” support each other.

Well, my FitMomma friend, Mandy, mentioned SparkPeople just a few days ago, so I logged back in, and found that it’d been THREE years since I had done so (actually, I had to have them email me my information, because I certainly didn’t remember it after that long.)

These things are only as good as the user using them.  You can go through all the set-up steps, but if you don’t log in and track, then the trackers aren’t gonna work for you!  And since it’s FREE, you don’t have the financial incentive to do it everyday.  However….

What if we all took the time to set one up.  Learn how to use it together.  Become each other’s ‘friends,’ and have built in support right away.  Sometimes accountability to a friend is much stronger than financial accountability.

So let’s check it out….Sign up at SparkPeople.com today.  Beware that since it’s free, it is ad-supported…and it’s overwhelming to figure out what’s what at first.  But once you get on, and start building your SparkPage, do a friend search for me…

Click on “Community,” then “SparkPages.”  Under “SparkPage Search/Buddy Finder,” do a user name search for FitMomma74.  That’s me.  I’m still updating my page from THREE years ago, so please, don’t just the awesome photos of me from back then.  We all make bad hair mistakes.  And take photos where we look like a hyena.

Join me at: SparkPeople.com

Join the Web’s Only Nutrition & Fitness Program Just For Teens! Diet

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Jessica permalink
    February 25, 2010 4:14 pm

    I love Sparkpeople! I use it to track my food and exercise. Sparkteams are great.

  2. Jill W permalink
    March 2, 2010 4:01 pm

    I got on this site. You’re right- it’s awesome. There are so many tools and motivators and it’s FREE. My only question- how do I find you. I tried a few things, but could never figure it out… I’ll keep trying:)

Have something to say?

