Skip to content

What’s For Dinner: Basil Shrimp Pasta

March 8, 2010

One of my favorites - Shrimp Pasta!

I’ve been asked by a few people “So, how’s the Bikini Bod thing going?”  Clearly, I’m a fool for not providing Mission: Bikini Bod updates on a regular basis…so look for all the latest developments tomorrow!

In the meantime, it’s Menu Monday, and I’m offering up one of my favorites – Shrimp Pasta.  You know how it seems impossible to recreate those light pasta dishes they serve in restaurants?  But thanks, again, to AllRecipes.com, I found this lovely little recipe that’s so easy and light, and yet is restaurant-quality. I, of course, made a few modifications to the original recipe – I presume that will eventually go without saying!  Enjoy!

Basil Shrimp Pasta

1/4 cup Olive Oil, divided
Whole Wheat Angel Hair or Thin Spaghetti
2 cloves garlic, pressed/minced
1lb cooked large shrimp (see note below!)
2 14.5oz cans Italian Style dice tomatoes – undrained
1/2 cup dry white wine (like a Chardonnay)
1/4 cup chopped fresh parsley
3 Tbsp chopped fresh basil
Freshly grated Parmesan cheese

1. Cook your favorite pasta according to package, adding 1 tablespoon olive oil.  Cook until al-dente (use the shortest cooking time suggested on the package), drain in collander and do not rinse.
2. Heat remaining olive oil in a 12 inch skillet over medium heat.  Cook garlic, stirring constantly, about one minute (garlic burns easily!).  Add shrimp and cook 3-5 minutes.  Remove shrimp from skillet and set aside.
3. Stir the tomatoes, wine, parsley and basil into the skillet.  Continuing cooking, stirring occasionally, about 8-10 minutes.  Add shrimp back in, cooking until shrimp heated through, about 2-3 minutes.
4. Serve shrimp mixture over cooked pasta, sprinkle with small amount of fresh parmesan.

Serve this meal with a chopped salad, and a small glass of your dry white wine.  Yum!

Notes:
1. For the shrimp, I buy two bags of frozen shrimp from Aldi.  They’re  like 3 bucks a bag!  I soak them in cold water for about five minutes, then start peeling off the tails (this is a pet peeve of mine about shrimp dishes.  I don’t want tails in my food, and even nice Italian restaurants leave the tails on.  I must be missing some etiquette thing about shrimp, but I don’t care.)  Anyway, it takes me just a matter of minutes to do this, and I do it while the water is boiling for the pasta.

2. Like any dish, you should prep/measure out all the ingredients before you turn on the stove.  It will prevent overcooking/burning anything.  It takes just a few minutes to do, and saves you a thousand minutes of stress.

3. I rarely have fresh herbs, especially this time of year, so remember the simple conversion for fresh to dry herbs:  one (1) tablespoon of fresh herbs equals one (1) teaspoon of dry herbs.  And 1/4 cup is the same as four (4) tablespoons.

No comments yet

Have something to say?

