Skip to content

Goal of the Week: Planning workouts

March 15, 2010

These illustrations crack me up! But, hey, it's a Plan, right?

Ok, so I don’t think I have enough followers yet to piss anyone off too much if I’m swapping my features around.  Today is supposed to be Menu Monday (and I have a delightful Avocado-Mango Salsa to pass on!), but over the weekend, I – once again – thought of a new feature, and one that should really be posted at the start of the week.  Maybe Menu Monday needs another day, like Wednesday’s What’s for Dinner or something.  Why I bother trying to get cutesy, I don’t know…

Anyway, last week, I was plugging along, watching workouts fall by the wayside, doing what I could when I could, doing OK with eating, when I realized that this is exactly what I’ve been doing for months.  And it’s not gotten me too far, and definitely hasn’t gotten me closer to Mission: Bikini Bod!  And then, like a Ghost from the past, I heard Bill Phillips in my head: “If you fail to plan, you plan to fail.”  (For those of you wondering, Bill Phillips, the creator of Body For Life, was the Reigning King of Fitness a mere decade ago. Now he has a new program called Transformation.)

Duh.  Big fat freakin’ Duh, Amy.  Why haven’t I been getting the workouts in?  Because I’m not committing to them in my head before they even happen.  I’m not writing them down in my calendar.  I just started meal planning again a couple weeks ago, where I plan out what we’re eating for an entire week, then post it on the fridge.  It works.  No wondering at 4pm what we’re going to eat for dinner.  Hmmm.  Kinda seems like a pretty easy leap to Workout Planning, no?

So yesterday, I looked at my schedule for the week, and wrote out a workout plan:
Monday:  Stroller Aerobics at 9am; Piloga at 8pm.
Tuesday:  Morning walk with Sophie at 5am, followed by morning yoga routine.
Wednesday: Morning walk with Sophie at 5am. Stroller Aerobics at 9am.
Thursday: Morning walk with Sophie at 5am, followed by morning yoga routine.
Frirday: Morning walk with Sophie at 5am. Stroller Aerobics at 9am.
Saturday: Hour-long walk with Sophie upon waking.
Sunday:  Day off

As you can see, this schedule requires me to wake very early – my husband leaves for work by 5:30 a.m., so if I’m going to get out without the kids, it’s gotta be early.  After he leaves, I can follow up with some good strength training yoga.
I have also cleared an alternative daily workout with the hubby.  If I don’t get the morning items in (because of the kids nine times out of ten!), then I get at least a 30 minute walk with the dog in after the kids go to bed.

See, I’ve committed to it before it happens.  The plan is there.  No more waking up and wondering when I’ll “get the chance.”  It’s done.  So can I stick to it? Well, I can tell you this morning didn’t happen, because the boys are all messed up with the time change.  So rather than attend the playgroup function I had planned, I’m heading out with the boys and the double stroller to a new trail by my house to get some sun and walking in.  Tonight, I’m still on for Piloga.  Like that, the switch in my head was flipped.  It really can be that simple.  It’s all up there in your head.

No comments yet

Have something to say?

