Skip to content

Rut Roh – feelin’ like an Old Dog!

March 17, 2010

The boys and I on a recon mission on Monday for the FitMommas - new Strobix trail, perhaps?

So the workout planning definitely works, but not exactly the way I’d planned!  LOL!  I have worked out every day, but have had to modify the plan.  First off, not sure what crack I was smoking when I thought I’d wake an hour earlier the same weekend we lose an hour of sleep.  Even the dog thinks I’m crazy.

Second, it seems I’m gettin’ old!  I’m feeling pains I’ve never felt before.  Old person pains. The 4.3 miles on Saturday reminded me of hip problems I’d long forgotten.  Those problems are simple – I carry all my weight on my hips and thighs.  God blessed me with a flat tummy (well, until baby #2), but definitely made me all woman!  And my hips, especially my left one, has been screaming at me since Saturday, though I think this morning it is finally better.  So I’ve not been able to do all the foot-to-pavement work that I was hoping just so that I could give my hips some time to recoup.

Do I sound old?  Cuz I feel old. I’m just three weeks shy of my 36th birthday, and realized this morning that it’s been 10 years since I found fitness.  And it was much easier back then!  I was 26, had never really exercised in my life, found myself single after, oh, 10+ years of dating and for the first time ever, focused on Me.  I went from my body-comfort weight of 142 to a slim and trim 123 lbs.

Then I met my future husband, and quit smoking.  Weight went back up to my “normal” weight of 142.  I found Body for Life and went back down to a strong and firm 125 lbs (more muscle than before!).

Then we got engaged.  I worked 50+ hours a week.  Then we got married.  Then we bought our house.  The weight slowly came back on as I lost my urge? desire? ability? to work out all the time – back to my body-comfort weight of 142.  After a 50 pound weight gain with pregnancy  #1, I started FitMommas of St. Peters with a couple of friends, and eventually found myself back at 135.5 pounds.  A good place for me!  And then pregnancy #2, a 35 pound weight gain.

And here I am, 10 years later, hovering around the 150 mark.  Lots of fat sitting on the hips.  Not the same cardio ability I had when I was younger.  Still pretty flexible.  But definitely more aches and pains than I ever remember.  What am I going to do about it?  Well, I’m pretty sure that I won’t feel better by stopping now.  No, I got up this morning to do some stretches, and will be at Stroller Aerobics at 9am this morning.  Cuz I’m definitely too young to be this old!  =)

2 Comments leave one →
  1. March 17, 2010 7:03 am

    Be gentle with yourself and embrace the healthy inner you. Feeling guilty about carrying the extra weight will actually stick it to you more…which seems weird I know. Just love yourself and think about how much you want to be healthy and vibrant. Trust me! Hugs. 🙂

    • March 19, 2010 1:55 pm

      Elise, thank you so much! There is a lot going on that all came together this week, and I AM feeling down on myself! Thank you for the reminder – it’s inside and outside and everything all together. And I love the image of “vibrant!” Yes, I would love to be vibrant, and will! Hugs to you!

Have something to say?

