Skip to content

Calling all Smoothie lovers!

March 23, 2010

Gettin' Smoothie for Breakfast

Hey all FitMommas and FitDads, I’m in search of some smoothie recipes.  I know that there is no Right or Wrong way to make a smoothie, but I’d love to hear some of your favorite ingredient combos are.

Just this morning, I busted out the ol’ blender this morning, and pretty sure I saw it smoking, but I digress.  I made my own concoction, with mixed results at best.  Note to self:  Berry and Peanut Butter are too interesting a combination.  I was trying to experiment since I had no bananas.  Don’t you just hate it when you have no bananas?

So post a comment with your favorite smoothie recipes/ingredients.  I’ll compile those recipes and any good ones I find in a later post.

And in the immortal words of The Great Bard, Shakespeare, “A strawberry-banana smoothie by any other name would smell as sweet.” Or something like that.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Darren permalink
    March 24, 2010 10:33 am

    hey amy, saw this after clicking on the chiropractor link. i am now a smoothie freak. Been using the Cuisinart Smart Stick (which rocks – easy to use/clean) to create one on a daily basis after my workout. i change it up depending on what I have available but this is my go-to recipe.

    one banana,
    four strawberries
    a handful of blueberries (blackberries or raspberries are fine but blue is my favorite),
    three pieces of ice
    half a bottle of Ensure High Protein vanilla
    a scoopful of Whey Protein Powder Vanilla Ice Cream flavor.
    And then topped off with fat free milk. (I dont know how much milk I use actually – I just fill up the rest of the cup provided in the Smart Stick package. It’s probably around a 1/2 cup.

    Now if I dont have a banana, some vanilla pudding works well to thicken the consistency of the smoothie. And if Im out of fresh fruit (or just the berries), I add some mixed berry yogurt, usually Activa.

Have something to say?

