Skip to content

P90X – Bring It!

April 5, 2010

Are his boobs bigger than mine? Cuz that's sayin' something.

So, over the weekend, I decided to up my seriousness.  Like from a 40 to a 1000.  I mean, we are on Mission: Bikini Bod, after all.  A bit of a back story….

10 years ago, I discovered fitness.  I’d been a dancer and gymnast when I was wee-little.  But by the end of 5th grade, I had boobs and none of the other girls did, and self-consciousness got the best of me.  But at 26, I found myself at a mental low, signed up for a weight training class at a local gym, and dove into fitness.  I got fit and cut, then quit smoking, gained my weight back, then did it all again.  This is when I was in the whole Body For Life thing with Bill Phillips – I worked out six days a week, packed a small cooler of food everyday, logged everything. One of those freaks.

Here I am, 10 years later, hoping my body remembers what that was like.  Because I’m going to do it again, only this time, instead of Bill Phillips, I’m going to take my body to hell and back with Tony Horton.  I’m borrowing my FitMomma friend Melissa H.’s P90X DVDs.  If you don’t know what p90X is all about, check out the site.  It’s supposed to be seriously tough.  And if I hadn’t done Body For Life and known that my body is capable of this, I wouldn’t even be considering it.  However, knowing that I’ll be doing some serious modifications in these first few weeks, I’m committing to at least 30 days.

The downside is that I will likely need to drop Stroller Aerobics and possibly Piloga for the time being.  As much as I’d love to do it all, I’m well aware that my body will reject my efforts if I over-push.  In fact, just like someone who decides to run a couple miles that warm spring day, we often overdo it, thinking that more is better.  If Bill taught me anything, it’s that your body needs times to rest and repair.  I’m hoping that I can keep Piloga on Monday nights, but will make P90X the priority.

So my plan is to start the P90X Lean program Monday morning.  As opposed to the Classic plan, it will feature a bit more cardio and less upper body strength training.  My eating plan will be coming in the next few days….still working on incorporating the P90X meal options into my family’s menu.  Much harder to plan meals when there are four other people eating with me (much easier when it was just me and Bill 10 years ago!).

I’ve also started a Team Beachbody account (user name is FitMommas), which will log my workouts for me.  (Uh-oh, have a feeling SparkPeople is going to lose me again!).  I’m very excited that Tony Horton includes so much core and yoga in his workouts.  It’s definitely more well-rounded than the Body for Life plan I followed all those years ago.

So I’ll let you know how I’m doing – and if anyone else has been there before, I’d love some tips, anecdotes, encouragement, etc. from you!  And if I sound really confident and excited – I am.  Sorta.  Because I’m also secretly scared shitless.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. olderguy permalink
    April 27, 2010 6:59 am

    I just read where you got sidelined by a back injury – sorry to hear it. Follow the doctor’s instructions, get your core straightened out and jump back in. I’m 57 days in to P90X and am seeing results. It’s 60% diet change and 40% sweat.

    Regards,
    Pasty middle age white guy
    http://middleagemanagement.wordpress.com/

  2. November 24, 2010 11:30 am

    you can always buy cheap foods on any supermarket these days because food production is mechanized already ;,,

Have something to say?

