Skip to content

Yay! P90X Day 1 – Core Synergistics

April 12, 2010
tags: ,

I know, I know, you’re thinking to yourself that I did this last week!  Well, I actually am awake to talk about it now!  If you haven’t already read the earlier post, I was half asleep and in general not in a good place last week.  I barely got three of the six P90x workouts in, so I decided to start from the beginning today.  There will always be times when a workout is missed here or there, but last week was a complete wash in the end.

Keep in mind that I am doing the P90X Lean version of the program, so these days will not follow most people who do P90X.  So today I did Core Synergistics.  This site has a nice recap of each of the exercises done.  Tony Horton, the instructor/guru, says at the end, I believe it may be true, that it may be your favorite workout.  It’s a lot of fun, and it’s got a little of everything in it – obviously, lots of core, some yoga and stretching, strength training, a dash of cardio, and some crazy-ass stuff I’ve never done before.  Superman-Banana?  Really?  Chataranga Run?  No freakin’ way!

OK, so in general, I either did the exercise, but not necessarily for the amount of reps that they did; or I did a modified version of the exercise.  On the exercises they used weights, I typically opted out – like the Leaning Lunges, Squat Run (love that!), and Lunge & Reach.  I did use my weights for the Lunge/Kick Back/Curl/Press.  This is such a cool move, it’s literally an all in one move.  You just don’t necessarily look pretty the first time you do it.

Speaking of not looking pretty…Bananas.  Superman.  Superman-Banana.  If you’ve been there, you know what I mean.  I can only imagine how kickin’ my core will be when I actually accomplish these moves, because I felt like an elephant flopping around in water.  Like “Water for Elephants,” but not at all.  For me, right now, it’s more like Superman/Chair-lying-down-on-its-back.  I did the Bow-to-Boat with a slightly better end result, though my boats were fairly pathetic.  More like Amy-Holding-Legs-Up-In-Air.

Also, this workout is very Push-Up heavy – we’ve got Staggered Hands Push Ups, Sphinx Push-Ups (um, yeah), Prison Cell Pushups, Pushup Walks.  Mostly, I just did my girly on-your-knees push ups, and held Plank a lot. I do really like the Reach High & Under Push-Ups.

But I followed Tony’s Tip of the Day – ENGAGE!  (Gee, everyone’s got a fit tip of the day, eh?)  But it’s a good one.  Don’t just go through the motions.  Engage your body, engage your mind, engage your muscles all through the workout.  Good thing to remember, whether on a walk/run, or an hour of TonyTorture.  Er, I mean, P90X.

As for eating, I’m not eating enough today.  I’ve been tending to a sick 16 month-old – poor Piglet has a fever, and feels miserable.  Luckily, he took a good afternoon nap, and Momma got a good workout in.  But I didn’t eat very large meals for breakfast or lunch, and didn’t get my snack in mid-morning.  So I’ll work on that – I did feel a bit sluggish today during the workout.  Ok…time to go wash the stink off…

No comments yet

Have something to say?

