Skip to content

P90X Cautionary Tale

April 20, 2010
tags: ,

Being told you’re an inspiration is so cool – and since starting P90X, I’ve heard it from a few people, and really, it’s awesome.  But I worry that I may be leading people down a primrose path.

P90X is hard.  It’s really hard.  And it is not for most people.  And those who’ve been through it before would probably not recognize what I’m doing as p90X!  I’m doing the Lean version, and then I’m doing modifications and alternatives within.  And, most importantly, I’m consulting with my doctor.  I’m no hero, ladies and gents, so while I am excited to be doing these workouts and getting back into shape, I’m not going to do it at risk to my general health.  And neither should any of you!

So please, if you’re near couch-potato status, don’t even try to do this.  If you’ve been working out and am half-way fit, you may give it a try, but like me, will probably need to do many modifications.  There is a P90X Fit Test that tells you if you’re ready for something like this.  I strongly encourage anyone who’s considering this program to give it a try – if you can’t do this, you can’t do the workouts!  Check out this site, and there’s a link about mid way down that says “click here to download the Fit Test.”

Ok, so I’m stepping off the soap box now.  =)

2 Comments leave one →
  1. April 20, 2010 7:32 am

    I’d agree it’s hard. But is it too hard for most people? I’d really be surprised if it was. All of the moves have modifications and there’s always the pause button. Do an exercise… rest… do an exercise… rest. I think it’s doable for those that want to push themselves. I’d agree that the fit test is key. If it doesn’t kill you, P90X will certainly make your stronger and more fit. 🙂

  2. Jenny S permalink
    April 22, 2010 8:15 am

    I started this yesterday and it’s pretty tough. I modified most of the moves. I know people that have tried to go all out and do everything they are doing and have torn ab muscles. I am doing what my body will let me. I wouldn’t expect you do be doing anything different. You are still my inspiration!

Have something to say?

