Skip to content

Thinking Outside of the Egg

May 3, 2010

So many good eats, so little time!

A few weeks ago, I was looking for new breakfast inspiration, and I got it!  I’m just not a huge egg fan, it’s the one food that I didn’t care for as a child and never have really grown into it.  I can do scrambled, but even so, as an adult, I’ve developed a mild allergy,  so it’s just not my favorite.  For those of you who love them and can eat them – rock on!  Eggs are a fantastic source of protein!

But for me, I’ve been alternating the following….

Fresh berries with cottage cheese. I do not like cottage cheese by itself.  But when mixed with some fresh cut strawberries or blueberries, it’s like heaven in a bowl.  And talk about QUICK!

Steel-cut Oatmeal, seasoned with local honey and cinnamon.  You can add a little protein powder if need be, just adjust the water.  Now that berries are becoming more available, I plan to add them in for flavor soon.

Smoothies! Turns out there really is no great smoothie recipe, it really is just finding what you like.  My go-to recipe has been:
about a cup of lo-fat vanilla yogurt
about a cup of frozen berries
about half a banana
a little bit of protein powder
a little bit of wheat germ
a splash of OJ, more or less to get desired consistency.

Some notes about smoothies:
Turns out that buying frozen fruit in bulk from Costco is cheaper than the Aldi finds that I made awhile back – thanks to Gina for checking that out for us!  If you have the space in your freezer, here’s a way to save a few bucks!
I prefer to use the Trader Joe’s organic yogurt, but since the store is not close by, sometimes the regular stuff has to do.
I would like to try adding some flax seed, but have yet to pick any up.  No reason…just laziness.
While I love the taste of mixed berries, the seeds from some berries can get annoying when trying to gulp one down!  Strawberries may be my favorite, if not a bit boring!
My blender SUCKS.  It’s terrible, it smokes and you can smell burning rubber.  I really need to invest in either the Cuisinart Stick or a decent blender.  I made the mistake of registering for a combo blender/food processor when we got married, and it turns out this baby is not very good at either.  Just haven’t sucked it up yet and bought something new.

I’d love to hear any other new finds out there, or suggestions on blenders.  One thing about the three options above – CHEAP.  Seriously, no crazy ingredient if you don’t want to, simple, easy, quick, and Cheap.  I hope you find something new or different here to try!

One Comment leave one →
  1. Jenny S permalink
    May 3, 2010 10:37 am

    I love my Magic Bullet! Super easy clean up and you can drink your smoothie out of the cup you use to blend it. Not very expensive either.

Have something to say?

