Skip to content

Confession Time: Craptastic Eating…and Stress

May 6, 2010

Um, I eat Ice Cream even when I'm not Emotionally Eating.

Ok, so I’ve been doing my best to firm up my core so that I can resume normal working out.  Unfortunately, the eating habits are in the toilet.  Life has hit, hard, the working out got purposely stalled, and now the urge to eat chocolate all the time is in full force.  One birthday party after another after another, and the eating is just hitting the fan, people!  I need to get out of this spiral.  I’m still (relatively) eating healthy at meals, but seriously, I ate through 1/3 of a bag of potato chips the other night.  GROSS!  I felt terrible afterwards, which alone should be all the reminder I need to put the emotional eating down.

And right there, I think I just hit the nail on the head.  Emotional Eating.  I’m stuffing my face just to Deal. Life is coming at me from all different directions right now.  April and May are always so packed, those months are busier than our Holiday season.  Hubby’s birthday, my birthday, my sister’s birthday, bro-in-law’s birthday, stepdaughter’s birthday, Mother’s Day, son’s birthday, mother-in-law’s birthday, anniversary and even the freakin’ dog’s birthday.  And I’m only hitting the highlights, I know I’m leaving secondary family birthdays out!  Crap, as I’m typing this, I think I just realized I missed my step-mother-in-law’s birthday!

That’s every year, and this year, Life has piled on a ton of personal drama on top!  Piglet cutting teeth, poison ivy, back problems, officially weened myself from post-partum meds, and I’m not even scratching the surface of the family drama coming at me from both sides!

Given all that is going on, I am trying to cut myself some slack.  And honestly, what would help alleviate all this stress would be some good physical exercise and movement.  Which I am limited to for the (short) time being.  But that’s no excuse for shoveling down half a bag of m-n-m’s (which I’ve gone through in the past 24 hours).

OK, so I’ve put it out there – I’ve confessed my sins, and must now be accountable!  I’m going to pick up a new double jogger today, so I can resume short walks with the boys during the day.  I’m getting good at my core workouts, but I can tell that I’m still another week or so from real, hard workouts.  And…now that I’ve confessed…no more binging on crap food.  It actually makes my body feel terrible, even if I was momentarily happy.  You know that, I know that, we all know that!

So have a great day, everyone, and feel a little lighter in knowing that I am saying what you can’t.  Yea, I emotional eat when no one’s looking.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Amy permalink
    May 7, 2010 7:04 am

    So cool you are getting your double jogger! Proud of you!!! I too emotionally eat. And I am someone who doesn’t have a STOP button. I wish I could go for the fruit and veggies instead of the chocolate and sweets.

    Hang in there!!! I tried to eat a healthy breakfast…Blackberries…yum….nope tart and left a horrible taste in my mouth. I hope the other fruit I have waiting for me isn’t as nasty…the chocolate is looking pretty good!!!

  2. May 7, 2010 12:14 pm

    I came upon this about 3 seconds after reading this post – so I think it is supposed to be for you. Maybe you could get the book from your local library if it looks interesting to you, but if not – just think about that idea for a minute. Also, dark chocolate is good for you!

    http://www.divinenourishment.net/

Have something to say?

