Skip to content

Gettin’ back in the Double Jogger saddle

May 21, 2010

Imagine these two smiling, and it's a Picture Perfect scene!

I know, I haven’t blogged in ages.  Even right now, I’m struggling to put together cohesive thoughts for this post.  Bear with me.  The children have sucked everything out of me for the past few weeks, and I’ve downshifted into Survival Momma.  “You best listen to your Momma if you wanna survive!”

Luckily, the kids and I got some new wheels for walking and Strobix class!  Woot!  Awhile back, Hubby and I took the kids for a walk, and he pushed the boys around in our (old) double jogger.  And Hubby hated it!  I’ve been telling him it sucked, that just moving the damn thing was a workout in and of itself, and not in a good way.  So he agreed that if I sold that jogger and our old travel system, we could buy a new double jogger.  I’ve had my eyes on a few mid-range  joggers – I wanted one with a swivel wheel that also locked.  I’m not a serious jogger, and I really wanted one that I could turn on sharp curves without killing myself.

So the week after I sold the two old strollers, I’m hanging with my MOPS peeps, and just happened to mention that I was in the market for new wheels.  And lo and behold, one of the other Mommas said she had one that she never uses.  And this baby is a year-old Valco Baby double jogger – a $700 stroller – and she offered to sell it to me for only $100.  Are you freakin’ serious?

It took a few weeks to get our schedules together, but last week I was finally able to pick up our new wheels.  Now, the new jogger isn’t perfect; it’s a behemoth that takes up more room than my last and is significantly heavier.  However, it’s all-terrain and turns on a dime.  We’ve taken it out for a few walks and even met back up with my Strobix mommas on Wednesday. Color me HAPPY!

It’s great just to be able to get out with the boys for a good walk!  I don’t think I realized how much I was missing this simple exercise – for my benefit and the boys.  They just kick back and take in the scenery as I get some peace and freakin’ quiet!  Oh, and it’s good cardio, blah, blah, blah.  Now all we need is a bit more non-rainy days to get out an enjoy it.

So the moral of this story:
1. If you’re in the market for something, let people know.  You never know what deal is sitting right in front of you.
2. Sometimes a walk around the neighborhood is the best physical and mental break you can give yourself and your kids.
3. Don’t kill your children when they’re pushing you to the edge.  Just strap them into something they can’t escape from, then put on your headphones so you can’t hear them.

No comments yet

Have something to say?

