Skip to content

To Butter or Not To Butter

May 27, 2010

Slab some of that buttery yumminess all over me!

Buttah, baby.  I love me some butter.  The sweet deliciousness of solid fat spread across a piece of toast…oh, mama, give me more!  But isn’t butter akin to a heart attack in a cute dish?

Well, after years of trying to find the perfect margarine, I am finally finding my way home.  To Butter.  I know, I know, this is a health and fitness blog, so how could I possibly promote the use of Full-Fat-Futter?  I’ll tell you why.

This is not a get-as-skinny-as-possible-using-whatever-means blog.  It’s a blog for crazy-busy parents who are striving for a fit and healthy lifestyle.  And sometimes, healthy-alternatives are nothing more than wolves in sheep’s clothing.  The bottom line is that margarine and low-fat butter alternatives are chemical concoctions that have their start in a laboratory before they make their way to breakfast tables.  So while the label may give you promising numbers to add to your daily calorie total, it’s the ingredients list that may be harming your health.

Drop ‘butter’ into your Google search, and you’ll get a long list of “Butter is actually healthy for you” articles that have come out in the past few years.  (My particular favorite was from Natural News.) So this isn’t exactly hot-off-the-presses.  But if you’re like me, you’re struggling to get past what you’ve been told all your life, that butter will clog your arteries and make you fat.  Bottom line is, however, your butter is loaded with vitamins and antioxidants, while your margarine is loaded with chemicals that lead to free radicals roaming in your body, potentially making you sicker in the long run. And, get this…the fats in Butter are Good For You!  Yes, they help fight cancer, boost your immunity and are even anti-fungal.  I am not making this up to make myself feel better about my butter addiction!

(Side note:  Doesn’t “Free Radicals” sound fun?  Too bad it’s cancer causing crap you don’t need in your body.  They need a less-fun name.)

So get past your “butter is bad” attitude and let it back in your life.  You don’t have to use a whole stick, a little pat goes a long way.  And embrace the use of naturally occurring foods rather than chemically manufactured.  I hear it’s the wave of the future.

One Comment leave one →
  1. May 27, 2010 3:56 pm

    Yay!!

Have something to say?

