Skip to content

Surrounding Yourself with Things You Love

May 28, 2010

How I LOVE Gerberas!

This past week, I was so inspired by my friend Kimberly R.  She’s inspiring in so many ways already, the least of which is just recently completing a half marathon, all the while dealing with the complications of Lupus.  She’s one tough cookie, and a pretty awesome lady.

But this week, her inspiration came in the form of something much simpler.  On her personal blog, she wrote about 10 things that she loves.  Simple things around her house that fill her with joy.  A vintage avocado green dish; her wall of family photos; a vintage apron; a set of my-grandma-used-to-have-these dishes.  They were very personal, not necessarily something everyone would cherish, but Kimberly loves them, and they bring her joy.

How freaking inspiring is that?  To wake up in a home each day filled with beautiful things that you love, as well as people that you love?  It is that much easier to make the most of each day when you have gentle reminders of beauty and love around you.  If your space is filled with crap and clutter, how much more work does it take for your brain to say “Hey, a workout would be fantastic right now!”

It’s all connected, folks, we know this.  Shoot, even Jillian Michaels (of WWJMD fame) has a show coming up on tying in the external space with what’s going on internally.  Surround Yourself with Things (and People) You Love.  Use that inspiration to push through your rough-going days, to move your body and feel fit and healthy.

In the meantime, as I look around my nicely decorated home of things that “fit with the decor” and that were “a good deal,” I think I’m going to reevaluate my surroundings this summer so that my space is filled with things that make me say, “Ooooh, I LOVE this!”  And how suddenly ironic it is that I randomly picked up a bouquet of Gerbera daisies (my favorite) this week, and another dear friend, Kari, commented on how she loved that I would buy fresh flowers for myself.  I must have known that I needed a little “something that I love” around here.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. June 4, 2010 1:13 pm

    btw – surrounding yourself with things you love at home is Excellent Feng Shui!!!

  2. June 15, 2010 9:01 am

    Well.

    Kimberly Just Cried.

    Thank you Amy. I never thought or have heard I’m an inspiration to anyone.

    I needed this today.

    Thank you so much!

Have something to say?

