Skip to content

On The Side: 60-Second Brussel Sprouts

July 20, 2010

I swear, they're delicious. Would I lie to you?

OK, the name of this is a bit of a misnomer….it takes a minute to cook, but a good 20 minutes to prep!  But it’s worth it!  I swear!

Here is a great little side dish to add to your next summer BBQ.  Even if you don’t like brussel sprouts, I implore you to give this little recipe to try, just once!  (Fine, have a salad waiting on the side if need be.)  This is one of my new favorites, though, no, I have yet to get the kids to embrace it.  It is, after all, green.

I found this recipe on About.com, and here’s a great little video to follow.

Ingredients:
18 brussel sprouts
1 Tbsp Olive Oil
1 lemon, halved
Salt & pepper to taste

1 Tbsp butter (optional, but recommended!)

1. Cut each brussel sprout in half, and remove the core with a triangle cut.
2. Thinly slice each half across the grain.

3. Heat olive oil, get it smokin’ hot.
4. Add brussel sprouts, squeeze in half the lemon, add salt and pepper, and stir constantly for 60 seconds.
5. Take off the heat, squeeze in second half of the lemon and add optional tablespoon of butter.

OK, I hope you love this like hubby and I do!  And now you can say you like Brussel Sprouts!

One Comment leave one →
  1. July 20, 2010 2:50 pm

    Well now I’m feeling bad about the heavy cream and prosciutto I use on mine. Will have to try this though – much cheaper!

Have something to say?

