Skip to content

Healthy Consequences: Hip Bursitis

August 6, 2010

Yep, that's me. A little old lady complaining about her hips.

Sometimes, being fit and healthy has it’s downsides, I’m afraid.  Back in March, I walked a 7K with my good friend Jodi.  My hip got a little tweaked, and I experienced a hip pain I’d never felt before.  Pointed.  Sharp.  I figured after a few days it’d pass.  I didn’t, but it did lessen.  And then let’s all remember when I threw my back out (my SI joint, for those of you in the chiropractic know).  And I’ve been seeing my chiropractor fairly regularly since then, working on strengthening my core as well as the muscles around my hips.

And still the pointed, sharp pain continues at times, aggrevated by any particularly hip-moving workout.  (I mean, I’m all hips people, so I like to work them!)  I’ve had it x-rayed to make sure there are no joint issues.  After talking to my chiropractor this week (after a particularly grueling hip workout at Piloga), he concluded that I likely have Hip Bursitis.  Yuck.

First of all, is it just me, or does Bursitis sound very old-persony?  I’m 36, for the record.  Basically, my bursa sac (did you just throw up a little, too?) in my left hip is most likely inflamed, agitated from the workouts I insist on putting it through.  And the non-surgical remedy is…Rest. Ice. Anti-inflammatories, like Ibuprofen.  If it’s persistent, a corticosteroid shot right into the bursa typically gives permanent relief.

So….I carry all my weight in my hips and thighs (OK, and the ghetto-booty, too), so I like to give them good workouts.  Because I give them good workouts, my bursa sac in my hip is inflamed, so I need to give it rest.  Rock to the left, hard place on the right.  No doubt I’ll be looking more into this, and will decide if the corticosteroid is necessary.  Like my back, it is a fine balance between healing an injury and keeping my body fit.

On the flip side…I’ve lost five pounds this month.  And without one minute of dieting.  More on my new non-dieting method of eating, but right now, I’m wearing pre-baby jeans, and it feels amazing.  Not sure where this muffin-top came from, tho…

3 Comments leave one →
  1. August 6, 2010 1:56 pm

    I am with you on the muffin top, but I try to embrace it. Bummer about your hip sac trouble. Yoga! Mind body low impact workouts make me happy. 🙂

  2. Karon permalink
    August 6, 2010 2:29 pm

    Way to go on the 5 lbs Amy! That’s awesome!
    Sorry to hear about the old lady pain. Really makes you dread working out. My drive has been nil this week.

  3. Bobbi permalink
    June 19, 2011 9:27 pm

    Cure of tendon injuries is essentially practical. Using non-steroidal anti-inflammatory medications coupled with Physical Therapy, rest, orthotics or braces, and moderate return to workout is a common therapy. An acronym used to list the remedial treatments in fixing tendinitis is “RICE”: Rest, Ice, Compress, and Elevate. Resting assists in the prevention of further injury to the tendon. Ice is effective at soothing pain, restricting too much swelling, and stimulating blood circulation after the fact. Compression and elevation both perform similarly to ice in their ability to restrict excessive, unnecessary inflammation.Initial recovery is commonly within 2 to 3 days and full recuperation is within 4 to 6 week.Visit my site to learn more about bursitis treatment http://tendlite.com/bursitis-treatment

Have something to say?

