Skip to content

Running Thoughts

October 23, 2010

I'm guessing this woman has no problem with her pants staying up.

(A post like this is what my blog is supposed to be about.  Hey, I’m a work in progress, what can I say!)

So this morning, I took my own advice and went out for a walk/jog.  I’ve been loosely following the C25K program (that’s Couch-to-5K, get-your-butt-off-the-couch-and-get-running program that’s quite popular these days.)  I use the Get Running app on my iPhone.  Still too early in the program to tell you if I like it.  I still have my stupid hip bursitis issues to contend with, so my complaints really have nothing to do with the program.

Anyhoo, as I made my way around my neighborhood on this warm, windy October morning, I had the following thoughts running through my head:

1.  I need an iPhone-holder-arm-band thingy.  Cuz right now, I’m using this holder that’s supposed to clip onto something, but I have nothing to clip it on to, so instead it looks like I’m running with a little MP3 purse.  Very ineffient, not to mention totally lame looking.  I could clip it onto my pants, but that leads me to….
2. I really need to start a freakin’ clothing line for curvy women.  Not plus-sized women, but women who’s bodies are not straight!  I have an itty-bitty waist and, yes, a round thing in your face, and I have yet to find a pair of my own workout pants that I’m not constantly hiking up throughout my walking and running! Earlier this week, I wore my yoga pants – what a freaking disaster.  I was in danger of performing a lewd act in public by flashing my hoochie-hoo by the end of any given run.  So this morning, I wore my drawstring-waist pants, which were only moderately better…all of my womanly dignity was holding onto dear life by a single drawstring, which had to be retied three times mid-run.
3. I need to get “Yeah” by Usher off my playlist.  He breaks my groove every single time, and I totally suck through the entire song.
4. Getting fitted for running shoes was the single best decision in my workout-life.  I have two metal screws in my left foot due a foot surgery years ago, and these are the first shoes that haven’t given out on my gimp foot early in the game.
5.  I really need to get those freakin’ metal screws out of my feet, because I can feel a barometer dropping a mile away, so given the impending storms coupled with a run, those screws were not kind to me today.
6.  Running uphill, in full-frontal 20-mile an hour wind gusts, may be my own personal running hell.  I felt like I was moving backwards.
7.  The wind was blowing so hard, in fact, that I could barely hear the running prompts from the prim, quiet English woman in my ears.
8.  I’m so grateful I won a set of Yurbuds at the Big River Running grand opening this summer.  I probably never would have bought a pair, and I’d still be complaining about how my ears hurt after using Apple’s earbuds.
9.  Being able to get outside and exercise without children in tow is a major luxury for a busy Momma.   And you simply cannot appreciate that if you’re used to exercising on your own.  No fights to referee, no dropped cups or toys to stop and pick up, no extra weight (for me, close to 100lbs!) to push while trying to move your own body.  Pure Exercise Bliss!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Karon permalink
    October 23, 2010 12:47 pm

    I really loathe running but have been contemplating the C25K program. Let me know what you think.
    I do have a question regarding your screws. I have one in my right foot. I probably should call the dr but I’ll ask your experience. Did your foot ever return normal size? Mine still seems larger and puffy.

    • October 25, 2010 9:19 am

      Karon, my screws have been in for years and years, so I have no swelling or puffiness. In fact, there’s a sick little bump on the outside of my foot that is the head of one of my screws. Blech. I need them taken out at this point, but not while the kiddos are this little!
      I’ll let you know how the C25K goes. Hardest part is getting out and doing it…hopefully without the kids!

  2. October 23, 2010 7:03 pm

    Seriously – being outside – without the kids & even with Usher – has been very refreshing to me. Music is big for me – I gotta get more organized with it. I have one of those arm-band thingies, and I don’t like it cuz I can’t see it or mess with the iPod. I actually stick mine in the little cleavage area that I have LOL. Probably not a great idea, but it’s working so far….

    Good luck! Keep us posted!
    Kris @Krazy_Kris

    • October 25, 2010 9:27 am

      Kris, never thought about using my boobs as an iPod holder…hmmmm, may have to try that! I have a workout mix (in desperate need of updating) that I listen to in Shuffle mode. So I really don’t mess with it, so I think I’d be ok with the armband thing. Who knows…be nice to try one, tho. Thanks for your comment!

  3. October 29, 2010 12:59 pm

    This is all just too strange. I’ve been running and so has Jen and now so have you. This is freaking me out a little. I have been following about.com’s running program because everyone I know does C25K and I want to be different. It’s actually really similar. I kind of like it a lot, and never thought I would be a runner girl. Still – it’s only been 5 weeks or so. 🙂

Have something to say?

