Skip to content

What’s for Breakfast? Perfect Eggs!

February 9, 2011

Perfect eggs can be part of a perfect breakfast

For the sake of full disclosure, I am not an egg fan. All the food things I disliked as a child, eggs are the one thing that I have yet to embrace as an adult. The smell of hard boiled eggs is enough to turn my stomach. Given that, I can stomach scrambled eggs, though they have to be made just so. Luckily, I have found the recipe for just-so-eggs, a perfect concoction that brings out just the right flavor of my not-so-favorite morning dish.

Because eggs are a great breakfast, really. I wish I liked them more. Despite all the mixed news over the year, eggs really are a healthy breakfast option – protein, good fat, low calories and loaded with nutrients. And a perfect quick breakfast before a workout.

One of my favorite breakfasts of late is a perfect scrambled egg, an orange and a piece of wheat toast. You can top the toast with a slab of real butter or natural peanut butter. And to whip together the perfect scrambled egg….

For each egg cracked, add 1 teaspoon of milk, and a dash of salt and pepper to taste. I find one egg is a great serving. Whisk thoroughly for two minutes with a fork or whisk and pour into a pre-heated, non stick frying pan set on medium heat. (You can use a pat of butter or cooking spray to coat the pan.) Let the egg sit for a minute or so and start to set. Then, using a flat-edged spatula, slowly start pushing the egg from the outside in, breaking up large pieces as they form, and turning over to make sure they are completely cooked. Serve immediately and enjoy!

No comments yet

Have something to say?

