Skip to content

The Great Winter Fruit Funk

February 25, 2011
tags:

So delicious, I could eat my screen.

I’ve been in a funk and I think I found the source…for months, I’ve been suffering through Winter Fruit. I’m over-paying and under-enjoying the mediocre fruit that us Midwesterners are forced to buy during these cold months. I know it’s coming…I know Spring is just around the corner, and that means a Summer’s worth of amazing, succulent berries and citrus.

But right now, all I can do is dream…and keep buying the “meh” fruit that’s in the stores. Somebody, somewhere, do you know where the good fruit is!? Because I can hardly stand to buy another batch of not-quite-so-sweet red grapes at $3 a pound.

So what are your strategies to overcome the Great Winter Fruit Funk?

 

3 Comments leave one →
  1. amy permalink
    February 25, 2011 2:00 pm

    I usually stick with frozen over the winter, so lots of smoothies around here in winter. Will only by fresh fruit on occasion- just too risky. But last week I did by a few apples, pears, strawberries and oranges from SNS and they were all really good. Made a fruit salsa with everything but the oranges.

  2. February 25, 2011 2:14 pm

    Yeah, I’m with you on the frozen, but I’m a bit smoothie-d out this week. Just…can’t….drink…one…more! I bought a bunch of fruit from Costco this week…the raspberries and raspberries are pretty good, but the grapes and strawberries…bland.

    That’s twice someone said Shop N Save, so I’ll have to pick some up next week!

  3. Jodi permalink
    February 25, 2011 3:03 pm

    Costco pineapples are always delicious and only 2.89. We also buy bags of Cuties from SNS and they are (mostly) good, seedless, and easy to peel.

Have something to say?

