Skip to content

I’m officially a Soccer Mom!

March 16, 2011

When Hubby and I bought our minivan five years ago, he went out and bought me one of those soccer ball stickers you see on half the minivans around town. Even though my stepdaughter was in soccer then, I refused to put the sticker on the van…I was not a soccer mom, thank you very much.

Well, my time has come. My Lil’ Man is now on a soccer team, and I was part of the Mommarazi on Sunday afternoon for his first soccer practice. (Mommarazi: the legions of dorky moms lined up with their cameras trying to capture their children’s milestones.) I have been initiated!

If the weather was glorious on Saturday, it was flat out crap on Sunday. Gale force winds and mid-40s temps under a cloudy sky. But that didn’t faze my little man – he was a rock star on the practice field! He was dribbling and kicking and running and stealing the ball away. And falling. There was a lot of falling. He plays soccer with flair!

We have two more practices before his first game, and I’m so excited to see him all suited up. His enthusiasm is just so infectious. I couldn’t be prouder to be a soccer mom! Plus, all the more reason to get out in the yard and kick around some soccer balls with my kiddo…might even break a sweat while having an awesome time with my kid. Now, where’s that soccer ball sticker?

 

The kiddos gathered around Coach…with all the attention a bunch of 4 year olds can muster!
Lil’ Man & his buddy take their ball stance and (don’t) listen to Coach.
Lil’ Man says “Give it to me, I’m ready!”
The Serious Soccer Player. LOVE him!
Momma’s Sweet Boy. LOVE him!
Can’t leave out how my friend Gina dressed her little guy. TeeHee.
2 Comments leave one →
  1. Gina permalink
    March 16, 2011 1:54 pm

    Carter looks a tad special doesn’t he? Ha! Thanks for posting the picts.

  2. March 16, 2011 1:55 pm

    Yay! My little man’s favorite part of soccer was snack, so that was short-lived. LOL!

Have something to say?

