Skip to content

What’s for Dinner? Beef & Pasta Garden Medley!

March 21, 2011

Not only delishious and healthy, but it's beautiful!

First off, a huge thanks recipe submissions I have received for Menu Monday! What a huge help and I appreciate it! This dish is a new one, and it comes from an old friend of mine from high school, Kimberly Willis! Who knew we’d be swapping recipes all these years later!

This dish is quite good, though I can’t call it a family favorite just yet. It’s loaded with veggies, which is awesome, but I got more than one “What is all that in there?” But everyone agreed it was delicious, even if every veggie wasn’t eaten.

This recipe originally comes from a Dierbergs Everybody Cooks Magazine, but I made a few minor adjustments to suit my tastes – for instance, I stir-fried my veggies instead of boiling them, added onion and a little salt. I can see tons of ways to make this your family’s own, so have fun. Let me know what you think!

Beef & Pasta Garden Medley
From Dierbergs Everybody Cooks Magazine (adapted by FitMommas!)

Ingredients:
1 pound boneless beef sirloin steak, 1 inch thick
1 box (6 oz) whole wheat spiral (rotini) pasta
1 Tbsp olive oil
1/2 an onion, chopped
2 medium carrots, cut diagonally into 1/8 inch thick slices
1 cup broccoli florets
2 small yellow squash, cut diagonally into ¼ inch thick slices
(I used one yellow squash and one zucchini)
3 cloves garlic, minced
a dash of salt
¾ cup canned beef broth
¼ tsp crushed red pepper flakes
½ cup lightly packed fresh basil leaves, thinly sliced OR 2 tsp dried basil leaves
1 cup cherry tomatoes, halved
1/4 cup grated parmesan cheese

Directions:
1. Trim fat from steak. Cut in half lengthwise and then crosswise into 1/8- inch thick strips; set aside.
2. In large heavy pot, cook pasta according to directions and drain.
3. Heat oil in same large pot over medium-high heat.
4. Add onion, carrots and broccoli; stir-fry for 3-4 minutes.
5. Add squash and garlic;stir-fry 2-3 minutes.
6. Add beef; sprinkle with dash of salt; stir-fry for 2-3 minutes or until meat is no longer pink.
7. Add broth and red pepper flakes; heat through. Remove from heat.
8. Toss in basil, cooked pasta and vegetables, and tomatoes.
9. Place on serving platter.
10. Sprinkle cheese over top.

SERVINGS: 4

Note: The meat cooks very quickly, so note the cooking times and be sure everything is prepped before you begin cooking. I was distracted as the meat went in, and ended up overcooking. It still tasted good, but would have been better if I had only cooked it 2-3 minutes as directed.
What I like about this dish is the COLOR – and the variety. If there’s anything the kids don’t want to eat, ask for a No-Thank-You bite, then they can always pick out what they prefer not to eat. Toss the veggies in my bowl!

Enjoy!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. anastasia Raines permalink
    March 21, 2011 8:45 am

    may i ask what is a no thank you bite??? it sounds interesting and something I need to use with my kiddos

  2. March 21, 2011 1:15 pm

    Anastasia, the No-Thank-You Bite rule is simple in theory, though not always in practice. My 4yo is still learning…

    Before any mealtime, the no-thank-you bite rule in place. You ask your kids to eat at least one bite of everything on their plate. If they don’t like it, they are free not to eat any more, as in “No, thank you.” It gets them to try foods they may not otherwise try, yet gives them to power to say “I don’t like this and I don’t want anymore, thank you very much!” For some families, it had put an end to all dinner time fights, for others, it’s a work in progress. My house, still a work in progress, but I enforce it nonetheless.

    Let me know how it works if you decide to put it into practice!

Trackbacks

  1. Oz Sirloin Steak

Have something to say?

