Skip to content

What’s for Dinner? White Chicken Chili!

April 4, 2011

Ok, not the most exciting looking bowl of chili, but I promise Deliciousness!

I have multiple recipes for White Chicken Chili, so this may not be the last time you see this dish. However, this is a nice, light version, one that won’t stick to your ribs and one that just may satisfy on this crazy weather day! It’s a recipe I got from my long-time bestie, Kimberly, years and years ago. I think she may have gotten it from Weight Watchers, but I’m not sure. But it’s light, delicious, and very adaptable to anyone’s tastes.

And an added funny: All the talk of late about getting your kids to eat food you serve, and my almost-12 year old took one look in the pot and said, “That looks disgusting, I’m not eating that!” Of course, after a gentle reminder that we don’t talk to Mom that way after she’s slaved in the kitchen, she tried it, loved it, asked me to make it again!

Enjoy!

White Chicken Chili

Ingredients:

  • 2-3 boneless chicken breasts
  • 2 cans chicken broth (recipe calls for fat free)
  • 1 large jar or two cans Great Northern Beans
  • 1 small can chopped green chilis
  • 1/2 green bell pepper, chopped
  • 1/2 red bell pepper, chopped
  • 1/2 small onion, chopped
  • 2-3 green onions, chopped
  • Couple dashes of chili powder and hot sauce
  • Salt, pepper, garlic to taste

Directions:

  • Boil chicken until cooked. Remove from water, let cool, then chop or cube.
  • Mix remaining ingredients, add chicken.
  • Cover and simmer for 1-2 hours.
  • Top with optional ingredients like shredded cheese, sour cream.

Notes:

  • I adapted the heck out of this recipe. I didn’t measure the water I boiled the chicken in, and added spices to create the stock: poultry seasoning, salt, pepper, garlic and a couple tablespoons of chicken base. Then I pulled the chicken out to chop and added it back in with the remaining ingredients.
  • Also, I didn’t have a can of green chilies on hand but I did have Salsa Verde (that’d be green salsa for all you anglos!). It was a great substitution!
  • I had to add some more water in because I forgot to cover as I simmered…it concentrated and blew my taste buds off!
  • I highly recommend Cholula Hot Sauce. I don’t know why, I just like it better than Tabasco.
  • And I love to eat this with Triscuits. It’s my go-to soup and chili cracker!

 

No comments yet

Have something to say?

