Skip to content

NatureMomma: “Grow It, and They Will Eat It!”

April 6, 2011

I think we become more conscientious buyers of food when we become parents. I know I did! I was sort of forced into being pickier, as one of my children is allergic to several different foods. When you have to start reading labels as much as I do, you soon realize how many of the ingredients in our children’s foods are engineered (not to mention hard to spell!). Even if you are giving your children seemingly nutritious whole foods (such as fruits and vegetables), you have to worry about pesticides and contamination issues. Then you travel over to the relatively small organic section of the produce area and are dumbfounded by the prices!

Well, this summer, why not become your own organic farmer? My husband grew up in a very small town surrounded by rural farmland everywhere. His grandma had a wonderfully diverse garden from which a majority of their produce came. Once our kids were born, it became his mission (andtherefore mine) to educate our “city kids” as to where our food comes from. Our garden typically contains 5-6 varieties of tomatoes, cucumbers, squash, zucchini, beans, onions, peppers, rhubarb,blueberries, and sometimes more! The kids love picking the vegetables, not to mention, they EAT THEM! Double score! They have pride in showing and sharing their veggies with others too!

You can start your own organic garden this month in your own kitchen. There are lots of kits out there to help you. My favorite kit is one we’ve used before (and I’ve seen it at Target) that includes a biodegradable bamboo tray, peat pots, and soil tablets and all you have to add are the seeds and water! I also just found a great idea for those of you with limited counter space. Take baseball card collection sleeves (clear plastic) and fill the pockets with soil, plant your seeds and hang the whole sleeve from your window with a bit of string! We might try this technique this year….

Even if you don’t have space to plant a sizeable garden, try a container garden or a raised garden bed (found at local hardware stores). I can’t wait to start planting this year since my children are at the perfect age to appreciate the full process! There are lots of children’s books about gardening, growing plants, etc. You can even design your child’s science fair project around it (ie-Which soil works the best?)! Have fun in the garden and don’t forget to get a little dirty!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. April 6, 2011 8:29 am

    Thanks, Mandy! Hubby and I are working on a plan for a our raised garden bed in the backyard. Now just to decide what we’re going to grow. I’m thinking tomatoes, bell peppers, jalapenos. I like the idea of onions, we go through so many! Maybe some strawberries?

    • Sarah permalink
      April 6, 2011 9:42 am

      Oh how I wish my sister lived closer– we could take a field trip! She is a farmer in Iowa who grows organic produce and has a CSA.
      I am going to try my hand at my first raised bed garden this year. I think I’m just going to try tomatoes this time since I’m afraid the bunnies will eat just about anything else!
      Wishing I had more flat land in my yard to give this all a try.
      Great article!

  2. Jessica permalink
    April 6, 2011 9:45 am

    Just planted our first garden last weekend. Home Depot had some excellent selections of seeds as well as some plants to help get you started.

  3. KARA permalink
    April 6, 2011 3:24 pm

    You are AWESOME my little sister! What a wonderful article… you have inspired me to want to educate Jordyn more on where our fruits and veggies come from and plant a garden in our kitchen! Keep up the great work-you are an excellent momma and educator!

Have something to say?

