Skip to content

NatureMomma: Skin-Friendly Skin Care

April 20, 2011

In the process of investigating good-for-you sunblocks, I began to question all the other “stuff” we put on our skin.  What’s in our bath and body washes, shampoos, conditioners, face creams, and makeup?  If there are a ton of harmful/harsh chemicals and things in our sunscreens, are those things present in ALL things we put on our skin?  Looking at product labels can be daunting.  First of all, it’s hard enough to pronounce some of those things, let alone understand what they are or if they are harmful or not.  Also, many products claim to be all-natural, paraben-free, or organic, but does that necessarily mean that they are “good” for you?

I consulted the Environmental Working Group’s Skin Deep Cosmetic Safety Database again and typed in the name of some of the products I use (face lotions, makeup, etc.) into the database search engine.  Within seconds, I could see the rating it received and why it received that rating.  I was surprised by some of the chemicals used and how they can be “disguised” in products.   Did you know that some common ingredients in everyday products can have “hormone-disrupting effects?”    I also began to realize that very few over-the-counter products (if any) are 100% safe so I asked myself which chemicals were the worst ones to look out for, and found a list of the top 15 things to look for/avoid in skin care products from Natural Solutions Magazine.

The shelves can be daunting when you consider all the “bad” stuff that is in common products, BUT you have to ask yourself how far do you want to take this?  Reducing SOME of the harmful ingredients in your everyday products is, I think, the best way to start.  I don’t want to go crazy, throwing out all my current body care products, and spending a fortune on products that are safer, AND difficult to find! Rather, I’m going to do my best to find quality products and watch for ingredients in some of things I buy.  Also, if you REALLY want to be safe, you can always make your own beauty treatments (there are lots of websites that feature homemade skincare, etc.).  I tried my hand at this and made a Bath and Body scrub that is nice, using raw sugar, skin oil (like light sesame or grapeseed oil), and essential oils.  So here’s to a spring filled with healthy skin care for all!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. April 20, 2011 10:34 am

    Mandy makes a lot of great points in this, but the most important, IMHO, is starting small. Same thing when changing foods in your diet. Most of us can’t afford to wipe our cabinets out clean and start over. But you can educate yourself on the chemicals going IN and ON your body, and then start making small changes. First I started avoiding High Fructose Corn Syrup in breads, then ketchup, then syrup, and now moving on to more condiments.

    I’m in need of more moisturizer for my delicate little face, so that will be my first purchase towards better skin care. Thanks for the info, Mandy!

  2. Sarah permalink
    April 20, 2011 1:23 pm

    After I bought the Badger sunscreen online I, too, was researching my own bar soap, shampoo, etc.
    I’m finding it hard to find many of the bar soaps that they have in their 0-2 category at brick and mortar stores.
    If you find something that you like that you can find at a place like Target would you keep me in the know?

    I am making small changes too… like when I run out of something I’m trying to replace it with something a little safer. I guess every little bit helps… not necessarily the wallet.. but hopefully our health will benefit in the end.

    Thanks ladies!

    • Mandy permalink
      April 20, 2011 1:40 pm

      Sarah-Tom’s of Maine bar soaps are rated pretty well and you can find them at Target!

      • Sarah permalink
        April 22, 2011 1:05 pm

        Thanks Mandy! I bought some of their deodorant for Lily. I’m going to switch to their toothpaste when we run out too I’m pretty sure. Might as well add soap to the list!

Have something to say?

