Skip to content

What’s for Dinner? Stuffed Peppers!

May 2, 2011

So glad I caught a photo of these babies before they went in the oven...because we devoured them when they came out!

I can tell you right now, I was not expecting this week’s recipe to be a winner. I mean, it’s a stuffed bell pepper. A bell pepper, stuffed with unknown ingredients. Gross, Mom!

But the kids loved this! OK, fine, none of the three kids really ate their bell pepper. The tween was kind enough to take a few bites of hers to show that she was trying, but overall, the bell pepper part was lost on them. Which was OK in my book, because I ate their left over bell pepper parts. Yummy for me!

The recipe below is a combination of a few, particularly one from my kid sister that she gave me years ago and another recently given to me by my friend, Debbie. You may want to play around with it and see what you think. Also, this is a very Italian-influenced recipe and it could totally be made into a more-Mexican dish. See my Notes below! Enjoy!

Stuffed Bell Peppers

1lb ground burger – turkey or lean beef
1 small onion, finely chopped
2-3 stalks celery, finely chopped
2 cloves garlic, minced
1-2 teaspoons Italian Seasoning (I probably used a tablespoon)
14oz of jarred marinara
3-4 tablespoons shredded or grated parmesan
2 cups cooked rice (use brown if you possible)
4 bell peppers
Mozzarella cheese

1. Preheat oven to 350. Cook ground beef with onion, celery, garlic and seasoning, drain if necessary (lean mean doesn’t usually need to be drained.).  Add marinara, parmesan and rice, mix thoroughly.
2. Cut bell peppers in half and clean out the insides. Stuff each half with meat mixture, top with cheese and back for 20 minutes or so until cheese melts.

NOTES:
1. This recipe is simple enough. You can keep the pepper whole, but if you do, I suggest blanching them. Drop them in a pot of boiling water for a minute or two, then plunge into cold water. Wipe dry with paper towel, then stuff and bake for same amount of time. I thought having them cut in half would be more kid-friendly.
2. You can make this a more Mexican-inspired dish by replacing the Italian Seasoning with Cumin; Marinara with Salsa; Parmesan and Mozzarella with Monterey Jack.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. May 2, 2011 5:51 pm

    I love stuffed peppers and you’re right, they don’t have to be heavy ordeals. Great recipe.

    • May 2, 2011 10:36 pm

      Thanks! I like the look of your site, thanks for the link. Going to check it out…I’ll let you know if I try out a few things and post them!

  2. Jessica permalink
    May 2, 2011 9:27 pm

    Saw a great tip in a magazine the other day. To prevent stuffed peppers from falling over during cooking, place individual peppers in cupcake pan or ramekins.

    • May 2, 2011 10:37 pm

      That’s a great idea if you do them whole!
      Like I said, I cut mine in half, so it worked great to lay them down little bowls.

  3. May 3, 2011 9:40 am

    Ooh, these look tasty! I’ve never made them before but think it might be a way to force more veggies into the hubby.

Have something to say?

