Skip to content

What’s for Dinner? Salsa Chicken!

May 9, 2011

I'm trying to get more artistic in my presentations, but honestly, I don't have the camera to make these works of art!

If you’re new here, then you may not know of my obsession  adoration love of all food things Mexican. I’m not really exaggerating when I tell you I could eat it every single day. Not sure how long my loved ones would stick around with all those black beans, but I digress.

So here comes yet another Mexican-inspired dish. This recipe is a combo recipe from two sources – my MOPS Momma friend Suzy and Stephanie O’Dea, author of Make It Fast, Cook It Slow. (I think Suzy might have gotten the idea from Stephanie’s blog.) To say it’s easy would be an understatement. To say it’s delish…well, that’s obvious, no?

Salsa Chicken

4-5 boneless skinless chicken breasts
1 jar salsa
1 can black beans
1 can whole kernel corn
a few dashes of cilantro
2 cups cooked rice

1. Put chicken in the bottom of your crockpot, it can even be frozen, if you’re extra lazy like me. Add salsa, beans, corn and cilantro. Cook on low 6-8 hours, high 4-5.
2. Shred chicken with a fork when done, and serve on a bed of rice.
(I told you it was easy.)

Notes: You can opt to serve with tortillas and your favorite toppings for a more taco like experience. My kiddos asked for tortilla chips to go with.
Use less salsa if using a chicken thighs or legs.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Sarah permalink
    May 9, 2011 7:10 pm

    I’m with you. I LOVE Mexican food! I think this recipe would also go good if you wrapped it in a tortilla and made it into a burrito/ enchilada or something like that.
    BTW… I just discovered Zatarain’s red beans and rice. Holy smokes it’s high in sodium, but so so good and smoky tasting.

    • May 9, 2011 8:16 pm

      Ah, Zatarain’s. Yes, their box mixes used to be staples in my pantry, until I started reading labels. Not the best stuff inside that box.

      Wonder if there’s a good alternative?

  2. May 10, 2011 11:56 am

    Hi! Thanks for the comment. I am loving your site, such a good idea to make a blog about healthy eating on a budget!

    I buy my Ezekial bread at trader joe’s. It’s so much cheaper there than regular grocery stores! As is everything else 😉

    • May 10, 2011 1:53 pm

      Thanks for the tip, Cara! Trader Joe’s is a solid 20 mile drive from my house, and $4 a gallon gas always has to be factored in…stupid gas…
      But if I have enough yummies that require a regular trip, it’ll be worth it. And seriously, when isn’t cinnamon raisin bread not worth it? 🙂

Have something to say?

