Skip to content

Mmmmm…Steel Cut Oats…

May 10, 2011

So I’ve been on an eggs and toast kick lately for breakfast, and decided to mix it up a bit this morning with an old favorite…oatmeal!

And I don’t mean the over-sugared, unknown ingredients found in those cute little packets. I’m talking steel-cut oats with my own toppings. So glad I stocked up on cans of steel-cut oats when Aldi carried them last year!

Steel cut oats, a splash of milk, honey, cinnamon and sliced bananas.

Steel cut oats are a delicious, filling and healthy breakfast option, if you haven’t given them a try. And there’s as many flavor and topping options as there are FitMommas readers (well, maybe a few more than that!).

What’s your favorite way to eat oatmeal?

What’s your favorite week-day breakfast?

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Karon permalink
    May 10, 2011 4:27 pm

    How do you cook them Amy?
    I bought a box and have yet to eat them. One main reason- cooking. Via stove top the directions say 20-25 minutes. There are microwave directions, which I have tried. Explodes over the microwave every time!
    Should I suck it up and eat later?

    • May 10, 2011 4:33 pm

      I microwave. Try cooking for shorter periods between stirring. My microwave directions are as follows:
      1/4 cup of oats, placed in a huge bowl (I use a microwave-safe serving bowl to cook)
      3/4 cup of boiling water (I add more, not quite a cup)
      Mix together and cook 3 minutes. Stir and microwave another 2-3 minutes.
      I still add a little bit of milk to thin it out and cool it off.

      Play around with it, I personally don’t have 30 minutes in the morning to wait for breakfast, which I’m sure is why you haven’t been eating them!

      Does anyone else have any suggestions?

  2. Kari permalink
    May 10, 2011 9:38 pm

    I am inspired to make mine tomorrow morn but did not know you could microwave. Bananas is a great topping idea.

  3. melissa permalink
    May 12, 2011 1:54 pm

    Is it bad if you use the quick cook kind? Not microwavable-they are whole oats, they just cook super fast. But I put frozen cherries on the bottom of mine and it is my favorite breakfast! Except pancakes with you guys of course!

  4. Melissa McDonald permalink
    May 16, 2011 6:19 pm

    Try making them up the night before, putting in the frig overnight and then reheating the next morning. You don’t lose anything, and they are just seconds away from eating. Not sure about the steel cut, but I have also done regular oats in the crock pot overnight.

Have something to say?

