Skip to content

Salads Make Me Happy

May 11, 2011

I love salad. I wish I would eat more of them. I whipped this one up today for lunch.

Chopped romaine, chopped red apple, half a sliced avocado, chopped chicken breast, sunflower seeds and Italian dressing. And it barely took me five minutes. Why don’t I make more of these again?

Salads are delicious, simple to prepare and you can create a different one every single day of the year. Plus, they’re more exciting than the boring, lame lunches my little boys prefer. If I make one more peanut butter sandwich folded in half…

So what did you have for lunch today?

What are your favorite salad fixings?

I love all the textures of the salad I made today. There’s sweet, salty, crunchy, creamy. I love chopped turkey or chicken, or ham if I’m feeling frisky. Add some avocado for a touch of fat and creaminess, or sprinkle a bit of blue cheese or feta crumbles instead for a little extra punch. Nuts are a great addition, sunflower seeds are my favorite, but I also like sliced almonds or walnuts. And I love fruit in my salad, with chopped apple or chopped pear my favorite. The sweet crunch is awesome!

Workout is coming later tonight…I’ll have to update you guys on my husband’s sudden decision to do P90X together. Seriously. Today is Day 3, and I’m not dead yet.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. May 11, 2011 7:37 pm

    I just see you two together at night sweating and laughing at each other. It’s a nice image. LOL! I am sending you lots of love to not throw your back out. And, I had a turkey sandwich with black pepper, spinach, red wine vinegar, dijon mustard, and full fat mayo on whole wheat with a homemade snack bar and water. It was perfect! Your salad looks excellent too btw. 🙂

    • May 12, 2011 11:13 am

      I have to confess…when Trey said “let’s do this,” one of my first thoughts was “Elise is going to tell me to be careful!” 🙂
      I love knowing you always have my back! (Get it, “back?” HaHa! Yeah.)

      I am actually going into the chiropractor this afternoon. Hopefully prevent any issues, rather than wait for them to hit!

      Your lunch sounds Delish! I love the combo of flavors. Would you like to share your recipe for homemade snack bar? 🙂

Have something to say?

