Skip to content

I’ll have Berries Du-Ja-Ve, please.

May 26, 2011

This morning's breakfast...

Yes, this morning I had yet another breakfast of berries and cottage cheese. Because, you see, it’s my favorite summer breakfast. It’s light, easy, healthy and Delicious…with a capital D, thank you very much. And it seems not everyone appreciates the yumminess that is cottage cheese and berries. (Read: Your name is Jessica O’Connor.)

As a reminder, I am not a cottage cheese fan. I get the texture issue here. The word “curd” is on the packaging and can that ever be good? Yes, it can. Give it a try. Buy a small container – I prefer low fat, small curd – slice up some fresh strawberries, combine and tell me what you think. You can be honest. But I guarantee I will create some converts to the cottage cheese way with this simple treat.

I would not steer you wrong.

Do you like cottage cheese?
Obviously, I do, but only under certain conditions. I can’t say I ever open up a container and go to town.

If you do, what’s your favorite way to eat it?
I love it with berries. Period. My hubby loves it sprinkled with black pepper as a side dish.

What foods completely put you off? Meaning, foods that you might like if only you could get passed how much they (rightly or not) gross you out.
I have to say, my list is short. For some reason, beets seem gross to me. Can’t say I’ve ever tried them. I just assume they are gross. Most other things I’ve at least tried and verified if they’re worth hating. And surprisingly, most foods aren’t nearly as gross as we’ve made them out to be! Except liver. That’s gross. Verified.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Gina permalink
    May 26, 2011 12:40 pm

    I’m not a big fan of cottage cheese plain but might have to try it with berries. I actually use it in lasagna instead of ricotta cheese. It tastes better and I think ricotta tends to “dry” out lasagna.

  2. Sarah permalink
    May 27, 2011 8:51 am

    Cottage cheese is only good with potato chips! 🙂 Or as a side dish on a salad bar. Cottage cheese and fruit is like peanut butter with ketchup. LOL!

  3. June 1, 2011 5:47 pm

    I love cottage cheese too! My wife laughs at how fast I can eat it. But in lasagna, nope I’m a purist. (Couldn’t help but see that comment.:)

Have something to say?

