Skip to content

Tunes for Tuesday: “Cosmic Girl” by Jamiroquai

May 31, 2011

Image from iTunes

I know it’s hard to believe, but Jamiroquai did exist before Napolean Dynamite. Remeber that groovy little song, “Canned Heat,” Napolean dances to in front of his school? Most people hadn’t heard of Jamiroquai before that, and haven’t really thought much of him since.

Well, I happen to be a huge Jamiroquai fan, and he was my walking/running partner through much of the 2001 and 2002. (When I put a CD into a JogSport portable CD player! Eek, the age of the WalkMan!) I’d pop in Travelling Without Moving, and do my walk & jog through Tower Grove Park in South St. Louis. I could time my turns and pace by what song I was at by what marker. This was also before the days of children, when I woke up after a full night’s sleep and happily jogged through the park and nary a worry on my mind. (Well, I had worries, but they seem so trivial now that I’ve had kids!)

Anyway, my entire point it “Cosmic Girl.” It’s a great disco-soul ditty that is so infectious, I dare you to stand still while it plays! Really, you can’t go wrong with any tracks on this little 1996 gem of an album. But today I’m feeling Cosmic Girl….come feel it with me!

No comments yet

Have something to say?

