Skip to content

Tunes for Tuesday: “When I’m Alone” by Lissie

June 7, 2011

Image from iTunes

St. Louis radio is pretty lame. Every once in awhile a station comes along and it’s fantastic! (100.3 The Sound!) And then the powers that be take it away and replace it with another lame-o station. Luckily, I live near a university, so I am blessed to catch some good college radio tunage. For those of you who don’t live near the Northwest corner of the metro area, you probably don’t know the glory that is 89.1 The Wood, the station out of Lindenwood University. The DJs are terrible, but the music is great.

Anyway, I digress, as one of my current favorite songs is in heavy rotation on The Wood. It’s just too catchy a tune to hold back. I’m talking about the infectious “When I’m Alone” by Lissie, the cutest little blond ingenue to hit the radio waves in a while. Think Jewel, but without the annoying voice. It’s folksy, ala Stevie Nicks, but I promise, it’s got a good beat – I know, you don’t think “Let’s go workout!” when you hear “folk music,” but I swear, this has a great little groove that will push you through a rough spot.

Who do you love to be alone with? 

There’s nothing better to me than time alone with my husband. He’s my bestest friend in the world, and when we connect with each other (emotionally, not just physically!), all is right with my world. Plus, with three kids in our lives, but two dogs, finding time alone with my bestie is hard work! So it’s doubly rewarding!

If you could be alone with anyone, who would it be?

Rob Lowe. Just watched him on Oprah as I’m catching up on my DVR, and that man still does it for me, 26 years later! Woo. What I could do to him in just a few minutes alone…

No comments yet

Have something to say?

