Skip to content

What’s for Dinner? Mega Garlic Chicken!

June 7, 2011

Paired this chicken up with some brown rice and fresh broccoli - pretty yummy!

There’s something about summer time and near-100 degree weather that makes dinner seem like a colossal chore. Dinner typically involves using heat to cook food…and what’s that saying, it’s hot enough to fry an egg outside? Can I lay some chicken out on the back deck in the morning and get dinner by 5pm?

Well, I don’t recommend that, but you can throw some chicken in a crock pot and get dinner by the evening! I posted a while back about my new cookbook I got for my birthday called Make It Fast, Cook It Slow by Stephanie O’Dea. Turns out darn near ever single recipe (I haven’t actually counted and verified) is available on her A Year of Slow Cooking website! There is no shortage of inspiration over there, it’s just a matter of finding something that fits your palette.

This week’s meal is her 20-40 Clove Garlic Chicken. I didn’t make any modifications to this recipe, so I’m going to send you over to her site for the recipe and all her notes. This was a good dish. I pulled off all the skin from the thighs, but my kids were not used to eating dark meat. There was a lot of meat and meat-like parts on the sides of their plates. It just didn’t look like chicken to them! But that’s the only complaint. I’m not exactly sure how many gloves of garlic I ended up using, whatever was in my pantry – maybe a bulb and a half? Use what you have, you won’t be disappointed.

Enjoy!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Sarah permalink
    June 7, 2011 1:08 pm

    And maybe as an added bonus you won’t get bitten by mosquitoes! They apparently don’t like the smell of garlic.

    Oh yeah… I meant to share this on Meetup awhile back about Crock Pots and lead… looks like the Rival brand may or may not leach negligible amounts of lead. Hamilton Beach is supposed to still be ok. Of course mine is a Rival, so I’m planning on replacing it when I can.

    http://insightfulnana.com/home-garden/housekeeping-home-garden/lead-poisoning-and-crock-pots/html

    • June 8, 2011 10:29 pm

      Hmm, good to know. I have the Crock Pot brand from Costco. It’s not mentioned in the article…is it ok??

Have something to say?

