Skip to content

The Fruit Salad that Kept on Giving

June 8, 2011

On Memorial Day, I made a quick fruit salad for dessert. Of course, the fruit was to be served with crisp, freezing Vanilla Ice Cream! TeeHee, I love ice cream…

So I made a huge vat of fruit salad – tossed some chopped pink lady apples, cut up red grapes and strawberries and topped it off with blueberries. Mixed together some fresh squeezed lemon and sugar and tossed it all together.

Delish.

And then….

It made an appearance on my oatmeal the next morning.

And then it showed up in my plain yogurt the day after that....and the day after that...

And finally, Friday morning I hosted a Fresh Wave House Party at my place (free stuff, good friends!), and I took my starting-to-not-look-so-great fruit salad and tossed a bunch of plain yogurt in with a wee bit more sugar. The juice from the fruit mixed in nicely and we had another fruit salad for another day.

Unfortunately, I took not one single picture of that salad before it finally bid us farewell. But talk about getting mileage out of the humble side dish! But I do have a question for you fine readers.

I’m not big on food substitutes. Personally, I feel that the substitutes we concoct in the laboratory are worse than the item we’re trying to replace. That being said…

What’s your preferred sugar substitute? AND WHY?

Have you read the labels, do you believe it’s better than regular table sugar (otherwise known as White Death?) 🙂

6 Comments leave one →
  1. June 8, 2011 10:47 am

    Evaporated Cane – Trader Joe’s calls it Organic Sugar. It’s $2.99 for 2 lbs there, and it lasts us 2-3 weeks. 🙂

    • June 8, 2011 10:08 pm

      I sure wish Trader Joe’s was closer to us. But I’ll have to check that out the next time I’m over there. Actually, I may check out the health food store by my house to see what they’ve got. Thanks!

  2. June 8, 2011 11:09 am

    I prefer Splenda, myself. One thing to keep in mind when we talk about food “substitutes” is that even the “natural” stuff at the grocery store is largely manufactured. Plain ‘ol granulated sugar went through a rigorous process at the factory before it landed on the shelf. Yet, we’re led to believe that it is somehow more natural, ie, better for you.

    • June 8, 2011 10:27 pm

      I can appreciate what you’re saying. All food, unless we pick it ourselves, is processed in some way. I am just trying to find the best sugar with the least amount of chemicals. I can’t say I’m the biggest fan of Splenda…a few too many suspect ingredients.

      Have you tried Stevia? I have not.

  3. Andrea S. permalink
    June 8, 2011 9:58 pm

    We have this happen around Thanksgiving and Christmas with our cranberry relish. My mom, sister and I all like it and take some home with our leftovers. it seems to reinvent itself quite a bit in the week after the holiday. And it’s never the same two times in a row. 🙂

    • June 8, 2011 10:18 pm

      Oooh, Cranberry Relish sounds fantastic! I hate that you can’t buy fresh cranberries this time of year!

Have something to say?

