Skip to content

PSA: Skin Cancer is Serious Sh!t

June 10, 2011
tags: ,

As fitness freaks (or wanna-be freaks), we often find ourselves outside in a walk  or jog or hike or bike ride or any number of other activities. And what we love more than anything is bright, sunny, warm weather.

Do you put on sunscreen before you head outside?

I’ll be honest, I don’t. I always have sunscreen on my face, as it’s in my face lotion. But I’ve also heard multiple times that  you should always use a separate sunscreen, not to rely on the lotions. I never put anytihng on my arms or decolletage, which gets plenty of sun exposure during the warm weather.

When I was younger, I liked to sun until I tanned – for the sole purpose of tanning. There was that one or two year stint I used the tanning beds to get the color I wanted. Any girl with chunky thighs will tell you that hamhocks look better browned than snow white.

I’ve relied heavily on the fact that one side of my family tans like the dickens…ignoring the fact that my other side of the family comes from pale, Scottish people, a few of whom have been treated for skin cancer. I’m a tan girl with lots of freckles and moles.

Something needs to change, and there’s nothing like Skin Cancer PSA to kick me in the rear.

 

Now a video like this is one of those things that you see and you think, “Wow, crap, that’s serious sh!t! I should probably get my skin checked out. I’ll do that tomorrow….”

Want to know why I’m going to make my phone call today? Because right now, my FitMommas of St. Peters co-founder and dear friend Kristina is watching her husband, Chris, go through his second round of Malignant Melanoma. He already endured four weeks of interferon treatment, only to have a baseball sized tumor show up this week. He’s now waiting to find out the results of his PET scan, to find out if it’s spread and determine how aggressive his treatment needs to be.

Because of Chris’ situation, the current organizer of FitMommas of St. Peters and my dear friend, Gina, got her skin checked out. She just found out this week that one of the spots found is Melanoma as well. Because she found it early, her prognosis is positive, it sounds like a minor surgery should remove all signs.

Both Chris and Gina are younger than I am. Maybe this isn’t enough to scare the crap out of you. A video with a bunch of people you don’t know, followed by the tales of “I’ve been there” from two more people you don’t know. But if it gets just one of you to call a dermatologist today, then this post has done it’s job.

So go buy yourself some Badger or California Baby or Burts Bees sunscreen, anything that passes the EWG Sunscreen guide. Yes, it’s expensive, but there’s no sense slathering on a chemical-laden sunscreen to prevent skin cancer, only to expose yourself to toxins that could do other damage. Don’t get defeatist on me and say “Well, something’s going to kill me anyway.”

Go get your skin checked and slather on the ‘screen. And hug the ones you love today.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. June 10, 2011 11:17 am

    Oh geez – okay fine – I’m calling my dermatologist right now. Thanks doll!

Trackbacks

  1. A Magic Wand Would Come in Handy… « FitMommas
  2. Cancer Sucks: Lessons Learned Thru Loss « FitMommas

Have something to say?

