Skip to content

Stop Throwing Out Bad Fruit!

June 15, 2011

It seems like I throw out a lot of good food around here. Actually, it’s good food gone bad…like those berries that molded before you even got to open them, lettuce that’s turned into that gook that it turns into, bananas that go brown and scare the children.

Luckily, I’ve been on a major fruit eating binge lately, so not too much has been thrown out, but I nonetheless found this article from Two Girls on the Go quite helpful – We.Heart.Fruit. A list of how to store specific fruit items to get the most life out of them at home.

I’m printing it out and sticking it on my fridge. Now I can’t say “I didn’t know that!” And hopefully I’m going to save a strawberry’s life.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. June 15, 2011 1:08 pm

    Thanks for the link back to our site! We can’t begin to tell you how rewarding it is to save the lives of our favorite berries! Happy fruit saving!

    • June 15, 2011 1:22 pm

      I left out the part that I’m saving a strawberry’s life…only to be eaten by me or my 2yo Beastie Boy! Muah-ha-ha-ha, goes the diabolical laugh!

  2. Sandy permalink
    June 15, 2011 1:13 pm

    Dear Amy,

    We are huge fans of Fit Mommas over at Glam Media! We’re one of the top 10 online media companies in the US and would love for you to help pilot our new Health & Wellness Community at Bliss.com, slated to launch in the coming weeks.

    If you’re interested, please contact me about joining our community for the launch!

    Cheers,

    Sandy Hayashi
    Community Partners Editor
    Glam Media
    sandyh@glam.com

  3. June 15, 2011 5:47 pm

    Some fruit just goes from ripe to rotten so fast. I like freezing berries and making preserves, which I know is time consuming. And if worse comes to worse, my compost pile likes it. Not that I like composting money!

    • June 16, 2011 10:19 am

      I probably should, but don’t take the time to make my own preserves. The problem is, I like my fruit FRESH. Can you freeze berries, defrost, and it still be the same?
      Composting money is slightly better than just throwing it in the garage!

  4. June 16, 2011 10:12 am

    Thanks for sharing this link! I too will print it out. I try to wash and bag fruit as soon as we get home but it still doesn’t guarantee it not going bad. Glad summer is on it’s way! Hot weather = lots of fruit and salads!

    • June 16, 2011 10:20 am

      Just this morning, I tossed four strawberries in the trash that had gone bad! ACK! There are no guarantees, but I agree…at least in the summertime, the fruit is plentiful, cheap and I pretty much want to eat it with every meal!

Have something to say?

