Skip to content

WordPress.com to WordPress.org – Help, please!

June 17, 2011

Hi fantastic blogging world!

I’m ready to switch my blog from free-templated-but-slightly-limited WordPress.com to the fantastic-need-to-know-more-html-than-I-do world of WordPress.org.

If you’ve done this with your blog, I’d love to know…
1. If you did it yourself and if you’re for hire!
2. If you did it yourself and can you tell me how – I know enough to be dangerous, but not good. I can do anything once someone shows me!
3. If you did it but hired someone – who and where you happy with them?

I know I’ll be happy once it’s done, but it seems like a ginormous mountain in front of me right now. Advice, tips, commentary, anecdotes, and anything remotely helpful is appreciated!

Thanks loves!

 

8 Comments leave one →
  1. June 17, 2011 11:33 am

    Hi, I saw your tweet about switching to self-hosted WordPress =) I offer that service here: http://dreamingirisdesign.com/wordpress-setup

    Feel free to email me if you have any questions! keri@dreamingirisdesign.com

    • June 19, 2011 9:22 am

      Keri, as I figure out (hopefully this week) exactly what I may need from someone else, I’ll send you a bid request! Thanks!

  2. June 17, 2011 11:56 am

    I sense you want to try and do this yourself. I believe in you! Start here: http://www.problogger.net/archives/2009/01/03/how-to-move-from-wordpresscom-to-wordpressorg/

    • June 19, 2011 9:23 am

      Thanks for the link! Hopefully this week I’ll be figuring out what I CAN do and what I CAN’T!

  3. June 17, 2011 2:43 pm

    http://en.support.wordpress.com/moving-a-blog/

    • June 19, 2011 9:23 am

      Thanks so much for the link! Hopefully I can work this out! 🙂

  4. June 17, 2011 3:19 pm

    My hubby just did my wordpress blog. Check it out and let me know if you’d like his help.

    www. mommamemoirs.com

    • June 19, 2011 9:24 am

      Oooh, thanks, Lauren! I’m not sure how much help I need yet, but good to know I can send some questions your way! If I need major help, I’ll send a request to your hubby and see if he can help! Thanks!

Have something to say?

