Skip to content

Memphis Eats

June 24, 2011

So last weekend, I took a weekend off of being a Full Time Mom, and headed south to Memphis. My kid sis (12 years my junior) is getting married in October, and she needed me.

Backstory – I was an event planner/marketing director for 10 years before staying home to raise rugrats. So I know how to plan shit. It was my career.

It was a quick 48 hours, but totally worth it. And I learned/tried some new things! Such as…

I love books on tape. Where have they been all my life? I didn’t think I could focus on a book being read to me while driving, but I was wrong. I listened to A Thousand Splendid Suns by Khaled Hosseini. I don’t know how wise a selection this was, I’m pretty sure bawling uncontrollably while barreling down the interstate is somehow unsafe.

I like blogs with pictures of the author, and realized that I have very few on mine. This is me, in the drive thru…would you believe me if I said it was a healthy drive thru?

I am a freakish pear. We had to get bridesmaid dresses figured out while I was there, so Saturday morning, we met with Jessica’s future MIL and SIL. Jessica’s sister in law and I are very differently-shaped – me pear, her stick – so it is quite surprising that we were able to find the same dress that flattered both of us! Hers is a size 0 and mine is a size 10. And while I didn’t get her measurements, I did get mine:

Bust: 34.5
Waist: 25.5
Hips: 41.5

There’s no typo there, peeps. My hips are 16 inches larger than my waist. Ever heard of an itty bitty waist and a round thing in your face? Well, you have now. (I’d like to note that that 34.5 inch bust doesn’t really tell the whole story. I wear a 30FF bra.)

I could eat my way through Memphis. While lunch after buying dresses was a quick stop at Chili’s, dinner was the best Memphis had to offer. We hit The Bar-Be-Q Shop in Midtown. It was freakin’ delicious. Jess and I split a rack of ribs. Oh, Lawdy, I was in heaven. We did half and half wet and dry, and no contest, the dry were the best. And the baked beans! And the cole slaw! (No picture, by the time I thought about it, it looked like a hacked pig on my plate.)

And then we headed down the street for my first – first, I tell you – experience with Frozen Yogurt that is not TCBY. Memphis has a few to choose from, but we hit Yo-Lo, a self-serve frozen yogurt shop that also offers locally grown and produced toppings, along with the requisite M-n-M’s, Oreos and chocolate chips.

I had the French Vanilla mixed with Espresso, topped with mini chocolate chips and locally grown plain pecans. I had to take my belt off at some point during the evening.

I have a pretty good future BIL. Jess and I worked into the wee hours of the morning on her wedding, and I got to sleep in the next day. I woke up to a whole wheat bagel and English Tea with honey from the local Panera. That Jake, what a sweet guy!

(And they have such a great house! I had no idea my sister was such a minimalist, I felt like I was in a photoshoot for a design magazine. I just have to get them somelthing for their walls…)

Also turns out that Jake is a phenomenal chef-in-training. It was Father’s Day, so his family was coming over lunch. He made a Grilled Beef Tenderloin with some sort of freakishly good sauce, roasted sweet potatoes, salad and bread brushed with an olive oil herb sauce.

The spices on the potatoes and bread were fresh from his garden!

He also made a fire-roasted whole chicken:

I don’t know what the bird ever did to Jake to get a beer can shoved up its ass, but I have to admit, that was delectable chicken!

I am a Gluton. After all that eating, I got into a car and drove five hours to get home. And then immediately had some Italian eats with my boys at Moe’s Pasta Bowl right here in St. Peters.

Have you ever been to Memphis? What did you eat there?

Have you ever been the maid of honor in a wedding? What was the most stressful part?

 

 

 

 

 

 

Have something to say?

