Skip to content

I was 10 years old…

June 30, 2011

(Apologies if this post is showing up twice in your reader. I accidently hit publish before it was done, and trashed it as soon as I realized. Note to self: Don’t blog before my morning tea.)

…and I wanted to be Mary Lou Retton! Anyone else?

Image from National Geographic

1984 Summer Olympics, I was pinned to the TV. I was living my gymnastic dreams vicariously through Mary Lou, along with every other preteen in the US.

Well, it seems I kinda still want to be just like her. Check out this interview with her from Yahoo –

‘Inside & Out’: Mary Lou Retton’s Healthy Life – Balance: Healthy Hollywood Living – omg! on Yahoo. Talk about balance.

Some of us aspire to simply not be fat; some of us aspire to be the fittest we can possibly be. I aspire to be Healthy and Balanced. I really ate up this little nugget of inspiration from one of my all-time personal heros!

Who are YOUR personal heros?

What is your health and fitness aspiration?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. June 30, 2011 8:24 am

    I wanted to be her, also! (I was too scared to try a handspring, though!!) Loved the story and appreciated hearing her comments about not pressuring her kids too much. Even in the so-called non-competitive community sports teams that my boys play locally, there are still those parents who are apparently trying to live out their unfulfilled accomplishments through pushing their kids to the limit, and it makes me sad.

  2. July 1, 2011 11:28 am

    I wanted to be Barbara Walters! I still kind of do haha. I think a lot of journalists idolize her.

    Even now, when I watch The View (which can make me gag sometimes), she’s so calm and levelheaded and respected. A quality woman – and a great person to want to be like!

    (I think.)

Have something to say?

