Skip to content

Our Love of Produce Knows No Bounds

July 6, 2011

After dropping off the Lil’ Man at Safety Town today, The Beast and I hit a new produce stand. Not because we are necessarily adventurous, but because it was convenient. With gas at $3.50 a gallon (give or take 20 cents at any give time), convenience and frugality rules over all.

My big question of the trip is….How did that get in there?

No, not the pineapple – there’s always room for fresh pineapple in my cart. I’m talking about the Cantaloupe. You see, I don’t do melon. Any melon. And by “don’t do,” I mean, I despise melon. Can’t stand it. So what would possess me to buy a whole one?

That’s it right there. That little cutie said “Please, Mommy!” and who am I to deny my produce-lovin’ offspring a chance to try a new fruit. Even if it is disgusting.

My little Beastie Boy helped me snag all kinds of non-disgusting produce…

    

And I just love how he squealed in excitement over apples, oranges, bananas, asparagus, corn and broccoli. Or, as he would say “Appos!” “Uhnge!” “Nanas!” “Apeargus!” “Cohrn!” “Bocki!”

And with that little buggers “help,” I dropped $50 on produce in about 15 minutes. What does 50 bucks of produce get you in St. Peters, MO?

A very heavy Dole Premium Bananas box worth…with some local honey thrown in for good measure!

So now we have fruit! If only I could conjure up a TV that’s not psychedelic, all my day’s ills would be remedied!

What fruit do you NOT like?

Do you like to buy your produce at a produce stand? Co-op? Grocery store?

 

 

 

 

 

5 Comments leave one →
  1. July 6, 2011 6:09 pm

    such a cutie!

    • July 6, 2011 6:12 pm

      Thanks, Tricia! I certainly happen to think so! 🙂

  2. July 7, 2011 9:40 am

    I’m cheap and so we often buy fruit at Costco. But I am picky so some things have to be hand-picked at the grocery store. Our farmer’s market is sooo darn expensive. I LOVE melon:)

    • July 7, 2011 10:04 am

      Karen, I seem to have a Murphy’s Law relationship with fruit bought at Costco – as soon as I buy a huge tub of strawberries (or some such fruit), everyone goes on a fruit hiatus for a few days! We have two produce stands close to our house, so I do my best to buy from them – always cheaper than the grocery store.

      I wish I loved melon…it just seems to go with summer, and I swear, it’s in every store-bought and restaurant fruit salad!

Trackbacks

  1. Hi, Mr. Cantaloupe. « FitMommas

Have something to say?

