Skip to content

Hi, Mr. Cantaloupe.

July 7, 2011

OK, so I went and bought one of these babies for my fruit-lovin’ Beastie Boy.

Now what? Short of taking a machete to this baby, I’m at an utter loss.

Speaking of utter losses, I feel the same way after reading about my produce-lovin’ post from yesterday. Do you ever re-read something you’ve written and hated it? I’m not sure where my head was, but my headline says “Our Love of Produce Knows No Bounds.” Yet, clearly my love of produce knows bounds, those bounds are cantaloupe and all other things melon. I’m particularly critical of written pieces lacking in logic, so it pains me when I see I’ve written something a little loose on the logic end of things.

Oh, well, it’s another day, no? And a good one at that…more to come!

So, seriously, what do I do with this cantaloupe?

Right now, I’m tempted to just start hacking into it, but something tells me there’s a more subtle way to take apart a melon.

Have you ever wanted to recant something you’ve written?

Luckily, I’ve never faced the embarrassment of sending a dirty joke to the entire company or anything on that level. But that feeling of “I need a rewrite!” is strong with me today – I’d love to throw in a bit of logic and maybe an extra dose of humor. Yesterday was indeed the day of Mulligans. But that’s the fun of blogging…it’s out there in the world now, so time to move on!

8 Comments leave one →
  1. Jessica permalink
    July 7, 2011 10:14 am

    Mom said Grandma used to cut up the melon and serve it with a scoop of ice cream on top. Had to eat the melon before you could eat the ice cream πŸ™‚

    • July 7, 2011 10:23 am

      If the ice cream is on top of the melon, how are you supposed to eat the melon first!? I am envisioning the melon serving as nothing other than a bowl for the ice cream…

  2. July 7, 2011 10:17 am

    LOL – uh – I have periods of rotten food **confession**
    Just last night I discovered the peppers were oozing juice and made a pool of stinky muck.
    Sigh….
    My intentions are always good – at least I’m BUYING fresh stuff πŸ˜€

    • July 7, 2011 10:24 am

      Ugh, all the food I had to throw out after our weekend away was so sad. I hate buying fresh and then having to throw out before it’s been eaten…

      Oh, the food confessions I could come up with…. πŸ™‚

  3. July 7, 2011 10:24 am

    I use a cleaver to open melons, so your reference to hacking into it wasn’t far off! If you don’t feel comfortable whacking it with such a big knife, you could start point-first and slice it with the cleaver (or large butcher knife). That’s just my $0.02. πŸ™‚

    • July 7, 2011 10:27 am

      All my kitchen gadgets…and I’m pretty sure I do not own a cleaver! But cleaver/machete, same difference!

      I have big chefs knives, that’ll have to do. I’ll try the point-first method…will let you know if I still have all my fingers and toes when this is all over.

  4. July 7, 2011 11:31 am

    Hack it open! I swear my Mom used to look like a crazy person cutting open cantaloupe when I was kid. When she was done we would be laughing so hard we had tears. She would scoop out some of the middle to turn it into a bowl and then put cottage cheese in it. I used to think it was so gross but now I like it!

    • July 7, 2011 10:56 pm

      I indeed hacked it open with a large chef’s knife. It was super-ripe, so no problem. Your mom sounds like my grandma…she ate hers with ice cream! In the end…I still think it’s gross.

Have something to say?

