Skip to content

The Daily Journey

September 26, 2011

A few weeks ago, I confessed that August was not a happy place for me – I didn’t workout and ate everything under the sun while under extreme emotional distress. So I’ve been really stoked this month, as I’m back in the groove, working out regularly and paying attention to the food I’m shoving in my mouth. And the weight is…piling on.

What a freakin’ bummer. And all last week, I was drowning in self-pity and a touch of self-loathing. I think PMS may have played a role in the discussion, but nonetheless, I was pretty hard on myself. If you all remember correctly, my kid sister is getting married soon. October 7th, to be exact, and I had proclaimed to be the next Pippa on her big day.

Alas, my rear end is not smaller by October, and Pippa and I shall remain worlds apart. And this past weekend, in Memphis for my sister’s shower and bachelorette party, and having a blast with the best kid sister anyone could ask for, I forgave myself for it. I had set this artificial goal line for looking perfect, and life ate me up in the meantime. I forgot that, for most of us, at least, health and fitness is an everyday experience, not the finish line. Not to mention, it’s not all about me. 

“Life is a journey, not a destination.”  Ralph Waldo Emerson

Think about what Mr. Emerson says. It’s the every day that counts in the end, not the actual end.

So making it count today included a scrumdillicious breakfast of cottage cheese and kiwi. Yes, kiwi! A bit more work than strawberries, considering they need to be peeled, but quite tasty. And so attractive!

For lunch, I had some left over meatballs and pasta from sometime last week. I know, not glamorous, but the key here is that I ate until I was full. Rather than in gastrointestinal distress.

And for dinner, more leftovers in the form of a small bowl of chili. (Which may cause gastrointestinal distress, no matter how small a bowl it was.)

It’s been tough with the hubby working nights – trying to get work done around the house with Trey during the morning, and then just me and the kiddos all afternoon and evening. But I’m making it work. I haven’t been getting my workouts in during the morning like I’d prefer, so today’s workout will actually be tonight. A little HIIT on the stationary bike after the boys go to bed.

So what is important to you on your daily journey?

For me, I need to remember that I’m a pretty cool chick and give myself to break. So hard for us Mommas to do that.

What’s your favorite left-over meal?

Mine is my homemade meatballs, as they taste exponentially better with each day that passes. Well, until they go bad. Not that I’ve ever let that happen!

No comments yet

Have something to say?

