Skip to content

My own, personal Reality Check

September 30, 2011

Trey and I in November 2011. When I was 123 pounds and had a four-pack. 10 years later, he loves me still, Momma booty and all.

Hubby has been working nights, so we’ve had a lot of middle of the day, middle of the week time together. (This has caused it’s own issues, as our food routine is all up in the air!)

But we were running errands the other day, and made a trip to Home Depot. Because that’s what white suburbanites do. As we started up the van, we saw another young family getting out of their car. The mom was super hot, super fit, in her workout clothes. I was totally admiring her Awesomeness, when my husband says “Gross! Look how freakin’ skinny she is!”

After the initial shock that he wasn’t crushing on her like I was, I realized something…

My husband loves me just the way I am. My size 12, 144 pound Momma body makes him totally happy. Anything I do from here, I better not become too skinny. It took a load of pressure off of me. Because as I’ve mentioned many times before, my obsession with becoming Pippa-esque by my sister’s wedding next week might have distorted my reality just a bit.

This doesn’t mean that I’m going to stop working out and only eat large plates of bacon at every meal. (Though I could. Seriously.) I feel better when I workout, and my body works better when I fill it with Good Things. But I can give myself a break. Because the most important person in my life loves me for who I am, not my jean size.

I’m going to guess the people in your life love you for who YOU are, too.

What things do you need to let go of today?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. September 30, 2011 10:25 am

    That positive attitude seems like it would give a fresh perspective to your workout, too, since you are doing it because you love yourself and not because you feel like you have to change. Thanks for the reminder. 🙂 There are plenty of things that I need to let go of, as well.

    • September 30, 2011 11:41 am

      Letting go…so easy to say, so hard to do. Best of luck to you, my friend! HUGS!

Have something to say?

