Skip to content

Draggin’ booty, but Poppyseed Dressing makes it all better

October 18, 2011

Last night was from hellllll (said in sing-songy vibrato voice). My poor little Beastie Boy came down with the croup and is barking like a seal. Luckily, he doesn’t have breathing difficulty, he just feels mildly cruddy and we have to hang out on the front porch in the cold, damp air every once a in awhile. Like, you know, 5am.

So I am draggin’ ass today. And I was totally going to take a day off, but then I’d totally be contradicting myself. Totally. (Sorry for incoherent prose. I’m got about four, non-consecutive hours of sleep last night.) So no excuses. It’ll suck, but half an hour on the bike will do me some good, give me a little boost, and make me feel better overall. After this post, I’m gonna workout and then come back and tell you all that I did. Promise.

I also wanted to share with you one of the most delicious salads I’ve ever made! This was yesterday’s lunch:

Colorful Deliciousness

Just a simple chopped salad with all kinds of left over…some left over lettuce from taco night, some left over lemon-peppery chicken from a dinner last week, some left over bell pepper from my Johnsonville Italian Sausage pizza party from last week. Plus some fresh chopped carrot and radish, topped with sunflower seeds and a little feta. But the best was the homemade poppyseed dressing. It’s not an original creation of mine, it’s from Pampered Chef. But I’m getting a little tired of my Italian standard, and was craving something more. Here’s the recipe:

Poppyseed Dressing

1 lemon
2 tbsp white wine vinegar
1/3 cup sugar
1 tbsp olive oil
1 tsp poppy seeds

1. Zest lemon to measure ½ tsp zest.
2. Juice lemon to measure 2 tbsp juice.
3. Combine zest, juice, vinegar, sugar, oil and poppy seeds in a bowl.
4. Whisk until well blended. Cover; refrigerate until ready to use.

Notes:
1. Feel free to use any sugar substitute you  are comfortable with. This is high on the sugar side. Or you can also lower the sugar and maybe add a bit more oil.
2. Make sure your lemon is room temp, you can even place it in the microwave for 10-15 seconds if it’s been in the fridge. Then, be sure to roll it around on the counter to loosen up the pulp and juice. You’ll get tons more juice out of your lemon by doing these two things.
3. THEN, don’t be a silly and throw away your lemon peel. Do a quick chop, drop it in your disposal and turn it on. Voila! Fresh sink.

I promise you it is fantastic and a nice change of pace.

What’s your favorite salad dressing? When I was a kid, it was Thousand Island, probably because it’s pink. I tend to go with Italian dressing, but have to admit I need something new in my life.

How was your night last night? Sleep well? Mine sucked. Insomnia paired with a sick kid did not do a Momma good.

Have something to say?

