Skip to content

Down and Dirty Cafe Mocha

October 19, 2011

I am in serious need of artificial energy, thanks to two not-so-great nights of sleep tending to a Croupy Beastie Boy. But I don’t want to become a Caffeine Addict again, where I drank 4-6 cups a day because that’s how much I brewed in my traditional coffee maker. I also don’t always find Green and Black Tea give me the perk I need. Back when I was a Coffee Freak, I thought Single-Serve coffee makers, like the Keurig, were ridiculous. Who drinks just one cup at a time? Sane people, that’s who. (Note to any random family members. A Keurig single-serve coffee maker and some single-serve K-cups would be a divine Christmas present, no? I think Costco might be selling one…)

So when you need a little coffee hit, but can’t arrange for curbside coffee delivery (like I enjoyed yesterday), here’s a down and dirty way to get a little perk-me-up.

Instant Coffee.

Oh, I know, it pretty much tastes like ass. (I realize that Starbucks now sells single-serve packets that taste decidedly better than ass, but I have not tried them.) But I like to keep a jar of cheap-o, instant ass-coffee on hand for emergencies. Add in a little cocoa, a splash of skim milk, and you have a Down & Dirty Cafe Mocha that’s not half-bad and does the job.

Yes, I buy Nesquik by the bulk.

Dirty Mocha

1 heaping teaspoon Instant Coffee (I use Aldi brand)
1-2 heaping teaspoons of Nesquik (or half a packet of No Sugar Added Swiss Miss Hot Chocolate works, too)
Skim Milk
Water

1. Heat up a cup of water in the microwave.
2. Add a teaspoon of instant coffee and 1-2 teaspoons of Nesquik.
3. Add a splash or two of skim milk to get desired taste
4. Stir and enjoy!

Note: If you think this is going to taste like a Starbucks Mocha, you are wrong. It won’t. Not even close. But it works.

I'll take one swirling cafe mocha, dirty.

And Zombie’s everywhere agree….

Dirty Mochas will do in a pinch!

 

What’s your favorite thing to order at Starbucks? Mine is a decaf, skim Mocha, no whip. Every time. And if you’re wondering why I order a decaf…because Starbucks decaf coffee is still loaded with caffeine. Their Leaded version is off the charts.

What’s your favorite Zombie movie? I only recently discovered my love of this genre. Zombieland was fun, 28 Days Later was intense. I have to say, though, what makes me want to see and read more is the book Day by Day Armageddon. I love this book!

6 Comments leave one →
  1. October 19, 2011 2:23 pm

    Ok, I have to ask for clarity on the 4-6 cup reference. The 3-cup mark on my standard coffee maker will fill a travel mug. A regular coffee cup is 2 cups on the coffee maker. So … 4-6 “cups” is really only 2 cups for me. Am I just trying to justify drinking more coffee?? 😉

    To answer your questions, my fave thing to order at Starbuck’s is a coffee of the day (usually Pike Place, but I occasionally venture out if the other option is not described as “bold”) with a shot of sugar-free vanilla (or caramel) and room for cream. I add half & half and Splenda and enjoy a low-carb coffee delight for a lot less $$.

    As for zombie movies, I have no faves. I must admit that zombies are one genre that I have zero interest in. (I dislike horror, in general.)

    • October 19, 2011 2:33 pm

      When I say 4-6, I mean 6oz servings. So…I was drinking 24-36 oz of coffee a day. I don’t care how ya measure it, that was too much!
      And, yes, you’re justifying drinking more coffee! 🙂

      I’ve always been a fan of (Good) horror. Note that Good Horror is hard to find. Zombies are just a new aspect of the genre that I enjoy.

  2. October 19, 2011 2:25 pm

    Shame, shame on me for adding an unnecessary apostrophe. *Starbucks. *hangs her grammarian head in remorse

  3. October 20, 2011 1:38 pm

    Ah ha – is that why I’m totally buzzed and dehydrated after my Tall Half Caf Skim Nonfat Latte? I thought 1/2 the caffeine would be a plan. Hmmm…

    • October 26, 2011 11:37 am

      Starbucks is notorious for their caffeine levels. Decaf gives me just what I need! Give it a try next time and see if you can tell the difference. (And HUGS to you today!)

Trackbacks

  1. Where to start…. « FitMommas

Have something to say?

