Skip to content

What’s for Snack? Guac & Celery

February 23, 2012

20120223-152645.jpg

The other day, I listed out all the things I am NOT eating, so I’m sure everyone’s wondering what the heck I do eat.

Well, let me assure everyone that I am not sitting around eating cardboard. Cardboard’s no good, too starchy. πŸ˜‰

Today, for instance, I am indulging in my favorite snack….veggies and homemade guacamole. Almost any veggie will do (no carrots or red bell peppers for me right now.) But I am partial to celery. Maybe not your first thought, but it’s got a great crunch, and I kinda love the texture combo.

And let’s be honest, the celery is simply a vehicle for the guac. This is a simple guac, I whip it up in a matter of minutes…

  • One well-ripened avocado, diced
  • One large clove garlic*, minced (or use powder if that’s easiest for you. No judgement.)
  • Juice of half a lime
  • Cumin, onion powder, cilantro, salt & pepper, all to taste
  • *Raw garlic is amazingly good for you, especially those of us fighting yeast. I get it anyway I can!

    Sometimes my guac turns out great, sometimes, like today, I get a little goofy with the cumin and burn my tongue. Luckily I have the fantastically neutral (and juicy!) celery to balance it.
    But it’s my new fave and proof that I’m still eating real food.

    What’s your favorite good-for-you snack?
    Do you believe that avocados are God’s way of saying “I love you, and want you to be happy”?

    Or is that just me?

    No comments yet

    Have something to say?

