Skip to content

Never Take Your Body for Granted!

July 31, 2012

Confession: I still have not gotten back in the exercise groove. But I promise it’s just around the corner.

And to illustrate that I’m not just throwing out empty promises, let me tell you about a “Never Take Your Body for Granted” lesson I learned this week. A lesson that required my husband to sacrifice his body. (Because he’s just that awesome a husband.)

Background: Trey had Plantar Fasciitis a couple of years ago, presumably caused by a combination of his freakishly high arches and his instance on being athletic. For those of you who, like me, have never heard of it, plantar fasciitis is extreme pain in your heel, having something to do with your plantar fascia. (I’m nothing if not informative, no?). Luckily, Trey recovered.

In the past few weeks and months, Trey noticed soreness in his heel, but not severe enough to seek treatment. Seriously, the man is 40, and he’s learned nothing about attacking a physical problem before it kicks him in the ass. And Sunday night, his ass was kicked. While running at full speed, rounding the bases during his weekly softball game, Trey felt a POP in his arch. I cannot imagine the pain!

Yesterday, the podiatrist gave an official diagnosis of a popped tendon connecting the plantar fascia to the arch. While no surgery is necessary, Trey will be sporting a high-fashion black ski boot for the next 4-6 weeks. The past two days have been not great for my hubby, as he’s not a guy to just lay around. He’s bored, agitated and just wants to get back to normal.

This sucks for him.

Having few options other than being a slug around the house, Trey acknowledged that he has not worked out since my dad died, and that he, too, needs to get back in the fitness swing. He admitted that he takes his healthy body for granted, and I realized that I do, too.

So if you got it, move it. Not everyone has the luxury. And there’s nothing like a little plantar fascia tendon tear to remind you of that. (I know, those words were right on the tip of your tongue, as well!)

What do you take for granted in your life? Obviously, yes, my body. But also loved ones, friends, Mom, Dad. Let’s not do that anymore.

Have you ever had to sport a heinous ski-boot? I have. Somewhere in the bowels of my basement, are photos of me sporting double red boots when I had surgery to remove bunions at the age of 19. Soak all that information I just gave you in for awhile, and I promise to find such photos so you can laugh sympathize.

No comments yet

Have something to say?

