Skip to content

Dinner Schminner

September 25, 2012

A few weeks ago, I had an amazing night out with my Book Club girls. Now, before you think “LAME!,” understand that the name of our book club is “Beer….and Books.” Because we have fun first, discuss literature (or some facsimile thereof) second. Or later. Or whatever.

Anyhoo, one of my favorite girls, Dianne, was asking all about the physical transformation I underwent this year. (For the record, this whole dairy, sugar, gluten thing has brought on a 25 Pound loss for me.) Her biggest question was….so what do you feed your family every night? It had been my intention, as it often is, to then start posting a quick pic each evening of what the family had for dinner. Especially since it is not all roses and wine…or in this case, baked chicken and broccoli. There’s plenty of not-so-great mixed in with the Proud FitMomma meals.

Given that was almost a month ago, and nary a picture has been posted, I’d say I haven’t done great in answering that question. But it’s never too late to start fresh. I am going to do my best to post daily (or most likely, semi-daily) pics of the family meals. You’ll see the repeats, the little twists on things, and even some pure crap.

First up…last night….

Monday night is traditionally Taco Night in our house. I’ve posted about this meal night before, as it is a family favorite. It’s one of the few nights that I cook one thing, but everyone can have their own personalized dinner. Set out some seasoned taco meat, lettuce, tomato, cheese, salsa, and any other toppings you happen to have on hand that night, and GO!

Dinner 9/24/12

Tonight’s taco night for me was….
A bowl of chopped romaine, with some fresh lime juice squeezed over the lettuce as a little dressing. I then topped that with hot seasoned taco meat, some chopped red pepper, chopped tomato, and a few avocado slices. As you can see, the avocado had just started to turn, but mixed in with everything else, it was still divine. And looking at this picture, I’m thinking some Orange bell pepper would have been really pretty! Not pictured would be the handful of corn tortilla chips, which are a snack staple for me now. Gluten Free! Yay!

Remind me to post my favorite homemade taco seasoning mix. I’m afraid I’m just a bit too lazy to look it up right now.

What’s your favorite go-to family meal?

No comments yet

Have something to say?

